Does Loxodon Gatekeeper prevent the soldier creature brought onto the battlefield by Preeminent Captain from attacking?

Asked by mitchasm 6 years ago

Example: If I have a Loxodon Gatekeeper , or even a Blind Obedience on the battlefield and my opponent attacks with Preeminent Captain and brings Hero of Bladehold from their hand onto the battlefield tapped to join the attack, does Loxodon Gatekeeper 's "artifacts, creatures, and lands your opponents control come into play tapped" override the Preeminent Captain 's "whenever preeminent captain attacks you may put a soldier creature card from your hand onto the battlefield tapped and attacking"? Because the "tapped" from Loxodon Gatekeeper seems like it indicates a different type of "tapped" than for attacking. Anyway, just wanted to make sure I understand the interactions correctly. Thanks in advance for any clarifications.

Sam_I_am says... Accepted answer #1

No, it doesn't.

tokens from Preeminent Captain are tapped when they enter the battlefield anyway. additional Kismet style effects don't affect whether or not they're attacking.

September 8, 2014 1:25 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

"Tapped / Untapped" is just a status that permanents have. A permanent is always either one or the other, and there are no "different" kinds of the status. Loxodon Gatekeeper doesn't have any meaningful effect on permanents that are already entering the battlefield tapped.

September 8, 2014 1:31 p.m.

MindAblaze says... #3

Also, Hero of Bladehold is a knight, not that it matters for the ruling...

September 8, 2014 1:52 p.m.

mitchasm says... #4

Good call on the Hero of Bladehold not being a soldier. oops! Thanks all, for your input. I had a feeling that was the case, I guess it was mostly wishful thinking that it might prevent the additional creature from attacking.

September 8, 2014 2:07 p.m.

This discussion has been closed