Does Dragon Tempest Trigger when Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker activates his +1 to become a dragon?

Asked by Gabtuls 4 years ago

Im working on a Red Green dragon deck Through the forest and flames and was wondering if Dragon Tempest would trigger its "When a dragon enters the battlefield" as Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker activates his +1 ability to become a legendary 4/4 red dragon creature? It seems like a grey area because technically now a dragon has entered the battlefield in the sense that Sarkhan is now a dragon but at the same time its already on the battlefield just in a different form.

Sephimore says... Accepted answer #1

he dosent enter the battlefield, he transforms, basically the same way a morph card flips face up. It was already on the battlefield it just turns into a dragon.

April 14, 2015 12:22 p.m.

Derpachus says... #2

Always check the gatherer before posting rules questions."If Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker becomes a creature due to his first ability, that doesnt count as having a creature enter the battlefield. Sarkhan was already on the battlefield; he only changed his types. Abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield wont trigger."

April 14, 2015 12:53 p.m.

This discussion has been closed