Does Dragon Fangs second ability targets a creature?

Asked by hfvalenz 3 years ago

Is it possible to attach Dragon Fangs from the graveyard to a creature with CMC 6 or higher even though that creature has Shroud?

I see no target word on the Oracle, but maybe the attaching part does include targetting a creature.

Thanks in advance.

Yes you can.

An Aura only targets something to enchant when it's cast.

If an Aura enters the battlefield from any other zone other than the stack, it does not target and you may attach it to any creature, even ones with shroud and/or hexproof. (Note that this doesn't get around protection).

September 21, 2016 2:35 a.m.

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #2

It does not target. You may attach it to a creature with Shroud, or a creature with Hexproof your opponents control.

The only part about an Aura that targets is casting it as a spell, which has you specify a legal target based on it's definitions (in this case, simply any creature).

To name a few examples which don't target on shifting auras: Crown of the Ages, Aura Graft, Iridescent Drake
However, aura shifting not being targetted isn't a general rule, as evidenced by Aura Finesse, for example.

September 21, 2016 2:40 a.m.

hfvalenz says... #3

Thanks Raging_Squiggle and BlueScope for the answers and specially for those sweet examples!

I'll start looking right now for a copy of Crown of the Ages to make Multani happy.

September 21, 2016 10:40 p.m.

This discussion has been closed