Do multiple +1/+1 counters trigger Fathom Mage multiple times?

Asked by DragonChampions 1 month ago

Does each +1/+1 counter from something like Give / Take (only Give) trigger Fathom Mage multiple times, allowing you to draw 3 cards?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. From the gatherer rulings: "If multiple +1/+1 counters are placed on Fathom Mage simultaneously, its last ability will trigger once for each of those counters."

August 26, 2019 9:43 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

So you know: If the ability instead says something like "Whenever one or more +1/+1 counters...", like Benthic Biomancer or Sharktocrab , then it will only trigger once for any event that adds +1/+1 counters regardless of how many counters are being placed.

August 27, 2019 9:41 a.m.

Please login to comment