Destroying Dragon Tempest When a Dragon Enters.

Asked by DrFuzzyGloves 4 years ago

Played some recent matches where i would cast a dragon, and the way the guy worded this in a few of the games made me think later.

If i cast a dragon and you destroy dragon tempest in response to the cast, i get none of the ETB effects. i know that.

But a few times i would cast the dragon, he would say "with the effect on the stack ill destroy Dragon Tempest ", tempest states that when a dragon enters the DRAGON gains haste and the DRAGON deals the damage. so killing tempest after the dragon enters with the effect on the stack would only serve the purpose of stopping the next dragons ETB effect correct? since the effect was not negated, and was on the stack, the effect still happens regardless of whether tempest is still on the field. similar to destroying Whip of Erebos in response to them activating it. they still get the creature, it still exiles from the floating effect, they just loose lifelink because the effect is sitll on the stack. thats why you have to destroy whip before activation since they cant activate it in response. same for tempest right? they have to respond to the cast, not the the effect.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

If you respond to the ETB abilities, the abilities will still be on the stack and they'll still resolve. Removing the source of the ability doesn't counter the ability.

Also, it wouldn't matter if Dragon Tempest were the source of the damage. It could still deal damage even if it weren't on the battlefield.

April 25, 2015 2:14 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

Note that the amount of damage is based on the number of Dragons the player controls as the ability resolves. If the triggering Dragon got killed in response to the trigger then the ability will deal a reduced amount of damage as it resolves. This may be why your opponent was making a point of it.

April 25, 2015 5:11 p.m.

This discussion has been closed