Destroy Creature - Order of Destruction and LtB

Asked by DaddyRabbit78 5 years ago

Hi, I'm building a Purphoros, God of the Forge deck with Krenko, Mob Boss included.

Let's say I have Purphoros, God of the Forge , Krenko, Mob Boss tapped and equipped with Thornbite Staff and two Goblin Tokens on the battlefield. The turn is passed to next player.

He casts Day of Judgment to destroy all of my creatures. Purphoros lives as he is indestructible (he's not a creature in this scenario anyway). However, are all the other creatures destroyed at once, or because of Thornbite Staff is each death placed on the stack?

I'm thinking: Day of Judgment resolves. The first Goblin Token is destroyed which untaps Krenko, Mob Boss , I tap him again to create two more Goblin Tokens which does 4 damage to everyone. The deaths continue and destroys the second Goblin which untaps Krenko again. I tap him again to create three more Goblin tokens which does 6 more damage.

A, do the newly-created tokens die as well meaning I can repeat this process until I deal enough damage to win. Or,

B, the newly-created tokens do not die and the process stops at the 10 total damage with Krenko and the original two tokens destroyed?

I ran into this with Forge, but the game froze when I clicked "OK" to allow Day of Judgment to resolve and I've yet to get to this scenario again.

So, does Krenko + Purphoros win or is Purphoros standing alone (with five goblin tokens)?

Epochalyptik says... #1

Neither. You get no extra damage, and you're just left with Purphoros, God of the Forge.

Dying isn't "placed onto the stack."

Thornbite Staff grants a triggered ability that triggers whenever a creature dies. This ability—NOT the deaths—is what's placed onto the stack.

Day of Judgment destroys all creatures simultaneously. This means Krenko, Mob Boss and your two tokens die at the same time. Krenko, Mob Boss's untap ability (from Thornbite Staff will trigger once for each death, but the abilities won't do anything when they resolve because Krenko, Mob Boss isn't on the battlefield anymore.

May 29, 2016 3:08 p.m.

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #2

Mass creature destruction does not destroy each creature one by one. Every creature is sent to the graveyard simultaneously.

You will not be able to get Any tokens from Krenko because he will be dead before any untapping can happen.

May 29, 2016 3:16 p.m.

DaddyRabbit78 says... #3

Thanks for the info, guys.

May 29, 2016 7 p.m.

This discussion has been closed