Color Identity Question

Asked by GrimlockVIII 2 months ago

Can I include a creature in a commander deck who initially matches the commander's colors but whose activated abilities has different mana symbols?

For instance, could I include Brutal Hordechief in a Sek'Kuar, Deathkeeper deck even though his activated ability includes white?

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #1

In the future, please use the Rules Q&A section of this site when you have questions about rules, cards, and card interactions. That section has some special functionalities, including the ability to "mark as answer" a thread to indicate your question has been resolved. I have gone ahead and moved the thread for you.


To answer your question itself, Color Identity includes all mana symbols on a card (excluding in reminder text), any color indicator on the card (the blue circle next to Sorcery indicating Ancestral Vision is a Blue card, for example), and any characteristic-defining ability that defines colors (such as Transguild Courier ).

You cannot include Brutal Hordechief in a Sek'Kuar, Deathkeeper Commander deck. Hordechief's color identity is --the Black comes from the colors in its mana cost; the Red and White comes from the pips in its activated ability.

Color Identity is different from the card's color in this respect--Hordechief is mono-black in terms of its color; but it is Mardu in terms of its color identity.

July 4, 2021 11:02 p.m.

GrimlockVIII says... #2

Ah that clears things up.

And apologies; I'll keep that in mind next time I want to ask a question.

July 4, 2021 11:06 p.m.

Please login to comment