Casting X-spells from exile but paying their mana cost

Asked by Quickspell 1 month ago

I’m pretty sure the answer is yes, but I need confirmation.

If I exile a spell with X in the mana cost, say Torment of Hailfire with, say, Wrenn's Resolve, am I able to cast Torment AND pay for X?

DreadKhan says... Accepted answer #1

If you cast a Torment and have to pay for it you can choose to pay X on top of . I think it's when you cast without paying that X = 0.

June 2, 2024 6:19 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

Yes. If the effect just says "you may play/cast it" and nothing else then that means you have to pay for it as usual and can choose a value for X. If the effect says "you may play/cast it without paying its mana cost" then you can't pay for any part of the mana cost and any X in the mana cost defaults to zero, unless it's defined by some other part of the spell's effect (I think Spoils of War might be the only example of this in the game).

June 3, 2024 8:39 a.m.

Quickspell says... #3

Thank you both, DreadKhan and Rhadamanthus

June 3, 2024 5:29 p.m.

Please login to comment