Casting Arcbond on a 3/3 creature, and then casting Anger of the Gods + Reverberate

Asked by addam11 1 month ago

Hi guys, I've recently been playing some commander, and was curious as to how this scenario would play out? Would the 3/3 creature die before the second "copy" of Anger of the Gods goes off? Or would it take 6 damage, deal 6 damage, and then die? I'm a little confused as to how the damage would work.

Thanks!

Arcbond + Reverberate + Anger of the Gods

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Spells and abilities resolve one at a time and there is a round of priority between each thing that resolves. Each time a player would receive priority state-based actions (SBAs) are checked until none are performed and then triggers are put onto the stack. The way the stack would work in your scenario assuming no responses not in the question is:

Arcbond is cast and allowed to resolve (anger is a sorcery after all).

Anger of the Gods is cast (stack is now Anger of the Gods )

Reverberate is cast in response targeting Anger of the Gods (stack is now Anger of the Gods , Reverberate )

Stack resolves in first in, last out (FILO) order. Reverberate resolves creating a copy of Anger of the Gods . (stack is now Anger of the Gods , Anger of the Gods copy.)

Stack resolves FILO. The Anger of the Gods copy resolves dealing three damage to the 3/3 and triggering the Arcbond trigger. (stack is now Anger of the Gods .)

SBAs are checked and the 3/3 is destroyed. (as well as any other creatures with 3 or less toughness.)

Triggers are put on the stack. (stack is Anger of the Gods , Arcbond trigger.)

Stack resolves FILO. Arcbond trigger does three damage to all creatures. (stack is now Anger of the Gods .)

(SBAs are going to be checked before the next thing resolves, so any creature that now had lethal damage marked would be destroyed)

Stack resolves FILO. Anger of the Gods does three damage to all creatures. As you can see, the creature with Arcbond on it is not currently on the battlefield and so will not trigger.

So you will deal a total of 9 damage to all creatures.

September 13, 2019 10:34 p.m.

addam11 says... #2

brilliant, thankyou for clarifying :)

September 14, 2019 12:21 a.m.

dragonstryke58 says... #3

Just a small nitpick: the 3/3 (and any other creatures that would die) is not destroyed, but exiled instead.

If a creature dealt damage by Anger of the Gods would die in the turn, the creature is exiled instead.

September 14, 2019 2:46 a.m. Edited.

Gidgetimer says... #4

Hmmm, I was trying to imply that other replacement effects like totem armor or regeneration could be applied and indestructible would save them by using the word "destroy" instead of "die". Maybe I should have just explicitly stated it and gone into the fact that the destruction event would be modified one way or another.

September 14, 2019 8:55 a.m.

dragonstryke58 says... #5

@Gidgetimer I knew that you knew about it. It was just a small nitpick since you were fleshing out the situation in detail. Since there were no other replacement effects modifying the event in the described situation, I didn't want a person new to the game to miss that detail.

September 15, 2019 2:39 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #6

Oh, my response wasn't about saying that I knew, and you were correct to make the correction. I was just musing on the fact that I sorta forgot that destruction has to have a defined place it goes and so I wasn't nearly as clever as I thought I was not using "die" because the creature would never die.

September 15, 2019 8:53 a.m.

Caerwyn says... #7

In the future, please remember to hit the green “mark as answer” button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since since this question has been answered for a couple of days, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

September 17, 2019 10:14 a.m.

Please login to comment