can you use a ledgendary creature/planeswalker as a commander?

Asked by rog0325 1 month ago

example: Jace, Vryn's Prodigy // Jace, Telepath Unbound

if the legendary creature side is my commander (if its allowed) am i also allowed to transform it under the correct terms or does it have to stay in legendary creature form

rog0325 says... #1

i intended to link the card Jace, Vryn's Prodigy // Jace, Telepath Unbound, not the deck

June 6, 2021 2:27 p.m.

Named_Tawyny says... #2

Yes, Jace, Vryn's Prodigy  Flip is a creature card when it is not flipped and on the battlefield, so it is a legal option for a commander.

June 6, 2021 5:40 p.m.

rog0325 says... #3

ok. but if i flip it and it gets destroyed in planeswalker form, does it return to the command zone or am i not allowed to flip it?

June 6, 2021 5:49 p.m.

Named_Tawyny says... Accepted answer #4

The 'Commanderness' of a card is intrinsic to that card, and always exists.

So even flipped, it is still a Commander, much like if somebody had turned it into a Forest with Song of the Dryads . When it dies/is exiled/tucked/etc... you will be able to return it to your Command Zone.

June 6, 2021 5:56 p.m.

Please login to comment