Can you tap Spireside Infiltrator to do the damage

Asked by beast_of_war 3 years ago

The card reads "when it is tapped, 1 damage". There's no tap symbol. Does this mean I have to have a spell or creature ability or just straight out attack with him or can I just tap him?(I don't think I could simply do that)

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Spireside Infiltrator has a triggered ability that happens whenever he is tapped, but has no way to tap itself. You are also not allowed to tap permanents without something having you tap them. Spells or abilities that tap him either as a cost (Crew is the big one considering what block it was printed in) or as an effect (Frost Lynx, Crippling Chill, etc) will trigger the ability. As will attacking with him as long as he hasn't gained vigilance.

August 28, 2017 11:31 p.m.

Shane says... #2

You cannot just tap him for no reason. You could attack. Or if he became tapped due to another card ability like Tumble Magnet it would work.

August 29, 2017 12:02 a.m.

beast_of_war says... #3

Thanks. That's what I thought. Just wanting to make sure.

August 29, 2017 1:14 p.m.

Please login to comment