Can you sacrifice tokens before they die to Virulent Plague ?

Asked by Argy 6 years ago

The scenario is that my Oppont has Virulent Plague on the field and I have Spirit Bonds and Monastery Mentor .

I cast a Lightning Strike , which Creates a Token due to the Mentor's ability.

Can I sacrifice this token using Spirit Bonds ' ability before the Token is killed by Virulent Plague ?

Thanks for any help.

PayOneLife says... Accepted answer #1

No afraid you can't. Virulent plague has a static ability, which is applied whenever a player would gain priority. In order to sacrifice a token, you'd have to have priority, and the token would have already gone to the graveyard.

May 20, 2015 4:28 a.m.

Argy says... #2

Thanks for that.

I still need to get my head around the idea of static abilities.

May 20, 2015 4:50 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Note that static abilities apply all of the time, not just when a player would get priority.

May 20, 2015 7:08 a.m.

This discussion has been closed