Can you Manifest a card for its bestow cost?

Asked by AshenOmega 2 days ago

If I have a card like Hopeful Eidolon that was manifest with Soul-Strike Technique, could I flip it over and cast it for its Bestow cost?

Gidgetimer says... #1

No. Turning a manifested card face up is a special action. You do not cast the manifested creature and you therefore can not pay alternative or additional costs.

701.34b Any time you have priority, you may turn a manifested permanent you control face up. This is a special action that doesn’t use the stack (see rule 116.2b). To do this, show all players that the card representing that permanent is a creature card and what that card’s mana cost is, pay that cost, then turn the permanent face up. The effect defining its characteristics while it was face down ends, and it regains its normal characteristics. (If the card representing that permanent isn’t a creature card or it doesn’t have a mana cost, it can’t be turned face up this way.)

September 18, 2023 7:13 p.m.

Please login to comment