Can tergrid get permanents if she dies?

Asked by Monomanamaniac 5 months ago

So if I have Tergrid, God of Fright  Flip and I cast something like a All Is Dust Killing Wave or Death Cloud would my opponents permanents that get sacrificed to those effects still come into play under my control even if tergrid is killed by the effect?

le-stan says... Accepted answer #1

Hi,

I think this is handled by this section of Magic rules:

Source: https://mtg.fandom.com/wiki/Triggered_ability

[quote]

603.10a Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library.

Example: Two creatures are on the battlefield along with an artifact that has the ability “Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life.” Someone casts a spell that destroys all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments. The artifact’s ability triggers twice, even though the artifact goes to its owner’s graveyard at the same time as the creatures.

[/quote]

--> In your case, and according to the above, the answer would be yes. The game would "look back in time" and Tergrid's effect would trigger.

Hope this helps.

Stan

March 15, 2022 4:36 a.m.

Guerric says... #2

The above is correct! Since she dies along with everything else, she will "see" them die as she does and her triggers will go onto the stack and resolve even as she goes to the graveyard. The only way it wouldn't work is if she died before them, but functionally they are all sacrificed at the same time.

March 15, 2022 9:19 a.m.

Please login to comment