Can Lazav trigger the reanimated card of Extract From Darkness?

Asked by FoldedCorner 10 months ago

I have Lazav, Dimir Mastermind in play.

I cast Extract from Darkness and it resolves.

One of my opponents mills a Sun Titan , I target Sun Titan with Extract from Darkness reanimation effect.

Can I have Lazav also become Sun Titan even though by the time Extract from Darkness "fully" resolves it's no longer in the graveyard?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

The first oracle ruling on Lazav, Dimir Mastermind says:

"Lazav, Dimir Mastermind becomes a copy of the creature card in the graveyard. If that card is no longer in the graveyard when Lazav’s ability resolves, use the characteristics of that card as it last existed in the graveyard. Notably, copy effects that applied to the creature card when it was on the battlefield won’t be copied by Lazav. For example, if a Clone is put into an opponent’s graveyard from the battlefield and you use Lazav’s ability, it will become 0/0. It won’t become a copy of whatever Clone was copying.

So yes, you can both return Sun Titan with Extract from Darkness (which notably does NOT target. Important if someone controls a Ground Seal) and make Lazav, Dimir Mastermind a copy of it. Notable for this interaction though, Lazav, Dimir Mastermind will not trigger the ETB ability since he is already on the battlefield. He does get the attack trigger and a vigilant 6/6 is good on its own.

September 28, 2020 5:25 p.m.

Caerwyn says... #2

In the future, please remember to hit the green "Mark as Answer" button to indicate your question has been resolved an you have no further follow-ups. Since this question has been answered for a few days, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

October 5, 2020 1:52 p.m.

Please login to comment