Can I Use Oko's Ultimate on Hydroid Krasis?

Asked by Sorin_Markov_1947 1 year ago

If my opponent casts Hydroid Krasis with X being (for example) 4, can I use Oko, Thief of Crowns 's last ability to gain control of it (since normally X=0), or when my opponent cast it does its CMC become 6?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

Note that Oko, Thief of Crowns 's last ability is based on power, not converted mana cost. If Hydroid Krasis ' power is currently 4 or more then it isn't a legal target.

To answer your core question: Hydroid Krasis' CMC is just 2 while it's on the battlefield. Any X in a mana cost only has the chosen value while the spell is on the stack. In every other zone it defaults to 0.

October 9, 2019 2:07 p.m.

Please login to comment