can Dictate of Karametra give different colors?

Asked by koylucumert 4 years ago

While i control Dictate of Karametra and Sandsteppe Citadel when i tap sandsteppe, can i get 1G1W? And another one if i have a Caves of Koilos and tap it to add one colorless mana, will dictate make me have black or white?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

No.

"Any type that land produced" is very literal. You add an additional mana of one of the types the land actually produced when you tapped it for mana. Even if the land could produce another type of mana, Dictate of Karametra's ability can't produce any mana of a type that wasn't produced by the mana ability that triggered it.

If you tap Sandsteppe Citadel for , then you get an additional . If you tap Caves of Koilos for , then you get an additional .

December 9, 2014 2:33 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

Also, the "correct" notation for multiple colors of mana would be . Numerals in mana quantities are used solely to refer to colorless mana, so "1G1W" would really mean .

It's clear enough what you meant, but the notation you used could lead to confusion in other situations.

December 9, 2014 2:35 a.m.

Boza says... #3

No, you add one mana more of the color that land produced. If you tapped the land for G, you get another G and nothing else. Think of it doubling your mana, but not changing its color.

December 9, 2014 2:36 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

For reference, Mana Flare has the same effect and a relevant ruling:

Oracle text:
Whenever a player taps a land for mana, that player adds one mana to his or her mana pool of any type that land produced.

Ruling:
10/4/2004: When used with lands that can produce multiple colors, Mana Flare produces one additional mana of the same color that was produced. It can't give a mana of a color that wasn't produced.

December 9, 2014 2:54 a.m.

KagrithKriege says... #5

So, if i drop a Dictate of Karametra before tapping a Dimir Aqueduct for: . Would i functionally get 4 mana? Being:

December 9, 2014 3:10 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

No. Dictate of Karametra's ability explicitly states, "Whenever a player taps a land for mana, that player adds one mana to his or her mana pool of any type that land produced."

You only get to add one mana of a type that was produced. You don't get more than one mana unless you control multiple instances of the ability (which would require multiple Dictate of Karametras).

December 9, 2014 3:17 a.m.

KagrithKriege says... #7

I guessed as much but i figured i should check, seeing as how the land is producing which are two unique colors, so one of any type currently being produced would in this specific case give the option for either. At first glance though, it made sense that two unique colors being added at the same time could add one of each being that they are both being produced. like you said though the one mana is the operative word.Thanks!

December 9, 2014 3:26 a.m.

Devonin says... #8

You would get to pick whether the additional mana was blue or black though, since you add one of any colour it produced and it produced two colours.

December 9, 2014 1:40 p.m.

sicmind says... #9

What if you tap a land with Elvish Guidance on it...would it double all that mana or just one more?

February 22, 2017 10:34 p.m.

Please see the answers given two years ago: you get one additional mana. That's it.

February 22, 2017 10:41 p.m.

sicmind says... #11

Thanks, is refreshing to not get a snarky response to someone asking a question ;)

February 22, 2017 10:50 p.m.

Please login to comment