Can an Artifact Enchantment - Equipment Aura enchant and be equipped to two different creatures?

Asked by Yesterday 1 year ago

Say I have a creature enchanted with Dragon Fangs , and there's a Mycosynth Lattice and Bludgeon Brawl on the battlefield, and I go to equip the Aura to another creature that isn't enchanted with it, what exactly happens? Are both creatures attached to the Dragon Fangs, or does the enchantment side fall off when I move to equip it to something else?

Does the Enchantment still go to the graveyard if the enchanted creature is sent to the graveyard, even though as an equipment it would ordinarily just fall off and wait to be equipped again?

Also, say a card like Simic Guildmage says to 'attach' the Equipment Aura to a creature and it isn't currently equipped to something, is the new creature both enchanted and equipped upon that ability's resolution?

Thanks in advance.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

An aura or equipment can only be attached to one other object, it doesn't matter that it has both types once you attach it via the equip ability to another object it becomes unattached from the first.

Objects with multiple types follow all rules for each of those types. This means that if the aura equipment Dragon Fangs is not attached to an object it will be put in the graveyard due to 704.5m.

Again since it has multiple types and follows the rules for all of those types when it is attached the object it is attached to is equipped for having an equipment attached to it and enchanted for having an aura attached to it.

November 20, 2017 9:28 a.m.

acbooster says... #2

A permanent can only be attached to one other permanent at any given time, regardless of what subtypes it has, so long as it has one that confers the ability to be attached to another permanent.

I believe this part of a ruling on Bludgeon Brawl's gatherer page will help with this one: "If the creature its attached to becomes an illegal permanent for it to enchant, the Aura Equipment will be put into its owners graveyard as a state-based action." I would interpret this as meaning that if the creature dies, thus becoming an illegal permanent for it to enchant, the Aura Equipment would go to your graveyard.

A creature with an Aura Equipment attached to it is both enchanted and equipped for the sake of abilities that refer to the "equipped creature" or "enchanted creature".

November 20, 2017 9:38 a.m.

Yesterday says... #3

Once again, forgetting to read the rulings on the Gatherer page gets the best of me. Thanks folks!

November 20, 2017 10:25 a.m.

Monomanamaniac says... #4

Woah!! You figured out a way to make auras into equipment, you could use Puresteel Paladin to make the equip cost zero, then move your auras by attaching them with the equip mechanic. On top of that they all get that cool equip ability and are already considered equipped to the creatures that they're attached to. That's really broken

November 22, 2017 1:36 a.m.

Yesterday says... #5

We could throw in a Leonin Shikari for good measure while we're at it. :P

November 22, 2017 3:20 a.m.

Please login to comment