Can a tap target creature spell stop me from flashing in a creature and blocking?

Asked by Hitscan_Dan 1 month ago

An opponent declares a creature as an attack against me. When i receive priority i cast a creature spell with flash like Gandalf the White to block. Can my opponent then cast a tap target creature spell like Take into Custody before i get the chance to declare my creature as a blocker?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, they can do that. After your Gandalf resolves, each player will get another chance at priority to take an action before the game will continue moving forward. The game will only advance to the next step if each player chooses to pass instead of taking another action.

June 10, 2024 11:27 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

Hitscan_Dan: An answer to your question has been up for a while. Since there don't seem to be any follow-ups or corrections that need to be made, I marked it as the "Accepted answer" so this topic can move out of the list of unanswered questions. In the future you can take care of this yourself using the "Mark as Answer" button on the response that you feel is the best answer to your question.

I try to avoid marking my own responses when I do this, but in this case it was the only option.

June 18, 2024 2:18 p.m.

Please login to comment