can a creature that has protection from black block a black creature?

Asked by Samp829 8 years ago

my friend tried to block a rakdos shred-freak with a knight of glory. can you do that move?

Thrandir says... #1

yes, the black creature just deals no damage

October 16, 2012 7:31 p.m.

cartwheelnurd says... #2

Protection literally means "This creature can't be blocked by, dealt damage by, or targeted by anything with the characteristic it has protection from. It does not actually limit the card itself. In a way, the knight of glory has protection from black, but the black creature has no protections against the knight.

October 16, 2012 7:33 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #3

Protection stops five things: damaging, enchanting, equipping, blocking, and targeting. If an object of a quality that object Z is protected from is trying to do any of those things to object Z, it doesn't work. Damage will be prevented, enchantments and equipment will fall off and fail to attach, creatures of the quality can't be declared as blockers, and object Z becomes an illegal target for any spells or abilities of the quality.

In this case, Knight of Glory is being declared as a blocker for Rakdos Shred-Freak . Since blocking a black creature with a pro-black creature doesn't violate any rules, it is fine. In fact, this is a logical move because the Rakdos Shred-Freak won't be able to do any damage to the Knight of Glory .

October 16, 2012 7:39 p.m.

Bigburlybill says... #4

Would the Rakdos Shred-Freak still be dealt damage?

October 16, 2012 11:47 p.m.

ADj says... #5

@Bigburlybill

Of course why wouldnt recieve damage?The damage is prevented only on the ceature that has protection

October 16, 2012 11:56 p.m.

OrgasmAndTea says... #6

I just feel I should add something here, because of a common confusion people have. Knight of Glory and Knight of Infamy both have protection from each other. This means that neither can block, deal damage, or target the other.

What it DOESN'T mean is that the two protections somehow 'cancel out'. I see this mistake all the time with people trying to block Knight of Glory with a Knight of Infamy etc. because they think the two negate each other.

Honestly, they act less like ying and yang and more like a couple that have just gotten out of a really serious, distressing relationship with each other, and both want to avoid seeing the other ever again as long as they live. In my head there's just this mental image of the two accidentally bumping into each other and not saying a word, avoiding eye contact, and one of them crossing the road so that they don't even have to share the same oxygen.

October 17, 2012 5:32 a.m.

cry3tic says... #7

@OrgasmAndTea +1 to you sir

October 17, 2012 9:21 a.m.

richardwr83 says... #8

cartwheelnurdsays...#2

Protection literally means "This creature can't be blocked by, dealt damage by, or targeted by anything with the characteristic it has protection from.

what about global black spells such as pestilence and plague winds?

June 11, 2015 11:07 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #9

@richardwr83: This thread is three and a half years old. Next time, please just ask a new question.

If the object in question doesn't try to do deal damage to, target, block, enchant, or equip the protected object, then it remains unaffected. Protection only stops those very particular things.

June 12, 2015 6:48 a.m.

This discussion has been closed