Blood Moon vs ETB Lands..

Asked by Metroid_Hybrid 4 years ago

I'm surprised that I couldn't find much on this topic elsewhere, and what I could find was conflicting, so here goes..

Say my opponent has a Blood Moon in play, and I lay down something like Bojuka Bog or Mortuary Mire. I'm assuming that that land "enters the battlefield" as-is for at least some instant of time (thus triggering it's ETB ability) before immediately turned into a Mountain; yes?

I am assuming this is the case due to the wording of Blood Moon's 3rd ruling listed on Gatherer..

6/7/2013 If a nonbasic land has an ability that causes it to enter the battlefield tapped, that ability will still function. For example, if Blood Crypt is entering the battlefield, its controller may pay 2 life to have it enter untapped. Regardless of this choice, it will be only a Mountain and not a Swamp.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

That's incorrect.

The land will enter as a Mountain with no abilities. Therefore, triggered abilities printed on the card itself will not exist and will not trigger.

The ruling you found applies if the land card has a replacement effect, which has to apply just before the land enters the battlefield because it modifies how the land enters. Blood Moon begins affecting lands as they enter the battlefield, but "as ~ enters the battlefield" replacement effects are applied immediately before that point and are therefore not overwritten.

January 22, 2016 10:11 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #2

ETBs from lands do not trigger when Blood Moon is out.

The distinction that needs made is between replacement effects and triggered abilities, and how each interacts with static effects. Static effects are always true of the game and there is never an instant in which they are not. Blood Moon says that all non-basic lands are mountains. This means that they never have any abilities outside of ": add to your mana pool". So it is pretty obvious that ETB abilities will not trigger. There are many non-basic lands that enter the battlefield tapped. Those cards have a replacement effect on them that replaces entering untapped with entering tapped. These non-basic land cards enter tapped because it is not an ability of the permanent, but of the card (remember if a permanent is referred to by only type, as in Blood Moon, it applies only to cards on the battlefield, not in any other zone)

January 22, 2016 10:17 p.m.

This discussion has been closed