Blade of Selves & Other player's turns

Asked by Kamiserat 5 years ago

If Blade of Selves is equipped to a creature I control and my opponent uses an ability such as that of Arena or Pit Fight on their turn does that trigger Myriad? Or does it not count as "Attacking"? I'm a little off concerning some wording. And if it does trigger off of them "fighting" each other, does Myriad also create another token attacking the active player since they are not "defending"?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

Fighting has nothing to do with combat. The definition of "fighting" is: two creatures each deal damage to each other equal to their power. Myriad will not trigger because nothing is attacking or defending.

December 18, 2015 9:45 p.m.

Also I'm not aware of any card or combo in Magic that allows a player to declare attackers when it's not his/her turn. Myriad can only trigger during its controller's turn (or in some cases, the controller of the creature to which Blade of Selves is equipped to) when he/she declares attackers.

December 18, 2015 9:49 p.m.

Kamiserat says... #3

That was the assumption on my end.

December 18, 2015 11:51 p.m.

Also something worth mentioning:

First Strike has no relevancy in "fights" because first strike only applies in the first combat damage step. So, if an Archetype of Courage is fought by a Grizzly Bears, both will die.

December 19, 2015 12:03 a.m.

This discussion has been closed