Anyone knows if Lone Rider  Flip gets both effects from Edge of the Divinity?

Asked by Dete 1 year ago

Like the title says.

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #1

For future reference, when you have questions regarding rules, cards, or card interactions, you can use the Rules Q&A section of this site. Unlike the regular forums, you have the option to "Mark as Answer" a button to indicate your question has been resolved and you have no more follow-ups. I have taken the liberty of moving your thread--if you could mark an answer once this matter has been resolved, that would be appreciated.

A card's colour is determined by the mana symbols in its mana cost or its colour indicator (a dot next to its card type, such as Ancestral Vision having a Blue colour indicator). This only looks at the card face that is showing. For example, Archangel Avacyn  Flip is mono-White, even though its back face, Avacyn, the Purifier is Red due to a colour indicator.

Lone Rider  Flip is only a White permanent. As such, it will only receive the +1/+2 effect from Edge of Divinity.

It That Rides as One , on the other hand, lacks a casting cost and a colour indicator--thus it is a colourless creature. As such, once your Lone Rider  Flip transforms into It That Rides as One , it will go from being a White creature receiving the White benefit of Edge of Divinity to being a colourless creature, receiving neither benefit from Edge of Divinity.

February 18, 2019 11:49 a.m. Edited.

Dete says... #2

thank you, for the answer and the info.

February 18, 2019 12:32 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #3

In addition, since it wasn't mentioned, Lone Rider  Flip is not black on either side, so it will not get the black benefit from Edge of the Divinity at all.

February 18, 2019 12:57 p.m.

Dete says... #4

i though it was white on the first side and black on the other.

February 18, 2019 3:07 p.m.

nobu_the_bard says... #5

Lone Rider  Flip is white on the front, colorless on the back.

Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip is colorless on the front, black on the back. Note that Withengar Unbound has a color indicator that It That Rides as One lacks.

February 18, 2019 6:48 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #6

As mentioned, the back side is It That Rides as One , which has no casting cost and no color indicator and is thus colorless. If it was black, there would be a black circle next to "Creature" on the type line. See Avacyn, the Purifier for an example of a color indicator on the reverse (red in this case).

February 18, 2019 6:54 p.m.

Dete says... #7

yeah i got that it was to see, if it was black on the back side it would activate with out needing to flip him over and if it did the aura would stay on him making it a 8/8. i though the eldrazi symbol on the left corner was an black indicator. it was to see what would be the faster way to flip him without needing to pay for a gain life spell or without the soul sisters on board.

thank again but the question was already answered.

February 18, 2019 7:21 p.m.

Please login to comment