An instant against my own instant.

Asked by darkmatter32x 5 years ago

I have Pia and Kiran Nalaar and a Bonded Construct on the battlefield, for reasons unknown, I cast Smash to Smithereens on my own Bonded Construct , before Smash to Smithereens resolves, I sacrificed Bonded Construct using Pia and Kiran Nalaar therefore I won't take damage from Smash to Smithereens . Is this a legal move?

Denial048 says... Accepted answer #1

First, this is not an Instant against an Instant, it is an activated ability in response to an instant.

Second, there is nothing about this that would be illegal. Since the Bonded Construct is gone by the time Smash to Smithereens resolves, it will fizzle due to no longer having any legal targets.

March 25, 2016 4:47 a.m.

darkmatter32x says... #2

My opponent's argument is that both instant and abilities are coming from me. Making it illegal.

March 25, 2016 5 a.m.

Denial048 says... #3

When you cast an Instant, you retain priority to cast another Instant or activate an ability. If you passed priority first, then yes, it would be illegal

March 25, 2016 5:07 a.m.

Denial048 says... #4

Well, when you cast anything you retain priority....

March 25, 2016 5:07 a.m.

This discussion has been closed