Am I allowed to use Duskmantle Guildmage's first ability at the beginning of my upkeep or my opponents upkeep?

Asked by CaiusV 4 years ago

Can I use Duskmantle Guildmage's first ability before I draw a card, so that me drawing triggers Sphinx's Tutelage, which triggers Duskmantle Guildmage, which triggers Mindcrank, and then back and forth till my opponent is either out of life or out of library?

acbooster says... Accepted answer #1

Yes you can. The first time players get priority is during the upkeep, which happens before the draw step. During the upkeep, however, you can only use instants, abilities that are activated at instant speed, mana abilities, or cards with flash. The combo you described works just as you want it to.

April 28, 2016 11:02 p.m.

Note that if you activate the ability on an opponent's upkeep, you must wait for them to either put a spell or ability on the stack or pass priority to you in order to resolve an existing triggered ability, or to proceed to the draw step. You cannot activate it out of the blue at the beginning of an opponent's upkeep.

April 29, 2016 12:33 a.m.

This discussion has been closed