2 Legendary Cards that are now Elks

Asked by Areaskullcrusher 1 year ago

If a player controls 2 different Legendary cards and they are transformed into Elks with Kenrith's Transformation or the 2nd ability of Oko, Thief of Crowns , since they keep the Legebdary Supertype, lose all other types, and gain the Elk Subtype; would that player lose one of the Elks to the Legendary rule?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Neither of those effects change the name of the card that they change into an elk. The legend rule only applies to legendary permanents with the same name.

704.5j If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.”

October 12, 2019 2:38 a.m.

MTGGodking9001 says... #2

normally i tell people "reading the card explains the card", but this is the first time i've felt the need to say "reading the rule explains the rule".

October 12, 2019 2:52 a.m.

MTGGodking9001 says... #3

i mean think about how your logic would apply to other legendary cards. if i controlled an Emrakul, the Aeons Torn then i also (according to your logic of subtypes) wouldn't be able to control an Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre because they're both legendarys with the eldrazi subtype.

October 12, 2019 2:55 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #4

Please follow Wheaton's Law when answering questions.

October 12, 2019 8:25 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

MTGGodking9001: I know there isn't an official set of rules or guidelines for the Rules Q&A area, but if you want to reply to a question, please put some effort into it and provide an actual answer to the question. "RTFM"-level responses don't help anybody. If it was that easy then there wouldn't be any questions.

October 12, 2019 1:27 p.m.

MTGGodking9001 says... #6

Rhadamanthus: in many cases, it "is" that easy. and it actually does help, because by taking their logic and applying it to similar situations, their able to see the flaws in it. it gives them a way to think about the question better so that next time they can figure it out themselves.

October 13, 2019 7:50 p.m.

MTGGodking9001 says... #7

Gidgetimer: who wasn't?

October 14, 2019 1:10 a.m.

Caerwyn says... #8

In the future, please remember to hit the green "Mark as Answer" button to indicate your question has been resolved. As this has been answered for a couple days without any follow-up questions, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

On behalf of all of us who lurk in Rules Q&A, I wanted to apologize for the bit of trolling you were subjected to. There's a lot of great, knowledgeable people in this subsection who are genuinely dedicated to helping players better understand the game we all love. I assure you, experiences like the one you had here are a rarity, and I hope the actions of one individual do not dissuade you from using this section as a resource in the future.

Cheers!

October 15, 2019 11:49 a.m.

Please login to comment