Weird rulings for individual cards

General forum

Posted on Jan. 18, 2021, 8:13 p.m. by jethstriker

The official rulings for Void Winnower contains the following line:

"Yes, your opponent can’t even. We know."

I remember there are other cards that have additional weird lines in their official rulings. I can't just seem to exactly remember them. Can anyone share what they know?

Azeworai says... #2

I do know that Rankle has one regarding the cordialities of letting him commence his pranks.

January 18, 2021 8:44 p.m.

Azeworai says... #3

Two more swift ones I recalled, being Falling Star and Sleeper Agent.

January 18, 2021 8:51 p.m.

xtechnetia says... #4

Void Winnower's is a classic. Some of the other ones I've come across at some point:

Queen Marchesa - "The last ability of Queen Marchesa (long may she reign) checks to see if an opponent is the monarch as your upkeep begins. If no opponent is the monarch, Queen Marchesa’s (long may she reign) ability won’t trigger at all. Queen Marchesa’s (long may she reign) ability will also check to see if an opponent is the monarch as it tries to resolve. If no opponent is the monarch at that time, Queen Marchesa’s (long may she reign) ability will have no effect."

Demonic Pact - "Yes, if the fourth mode is the only one remaining, you must choose it. You read the whole contract, right?"

Jadelight Ranger - "If you reveal a nonland card the first time Jadelight Ranger explores and leave it on top of your library, you’ll reveal the same card the second time it explores. If you don’t pretend to be surprised, you’ll hurt Jadelight Ranger’s feelings."

Territorial Allosaurus - "Territorial Allosaurus’s ability can target another creature you control (such as a Dinosaur with an enrage ability). If you kicked it but your opponent controls no creatures that are legal targets, the ability must target another one of your creatures. Plan carefully before kicking Dinosaurs."

Persistent Petitioners - "The last ability of Persistent Petitioners lets you ignore the “four-of” rule. It doesn’t let you ignore format legality. For example, during a Ravnica Allegiance Limited event, you can’t add Persistent Petitioners from your personal collection, no matter how much they ask."

Lovestruck Beast - "If Lovestruck Beast’s power and toughness are reduced to 1/1, it learns that loving oneself is the first step on the true path to happiness, and it can attack even if you control no other 1/1 creatures."

And one borderline personal example:

Lion's Eye Diamond - "The ability is a mana ability, so it is activated and resolves as a mana ability, but it can only be activated at times when you can cast an instant. Yes, this is a bit weird."

January 18, 2021 9:03 p.m.

jethstriker says... #5

This is exactly what I'm looking for xtechnetia, thank you. These rule lines breaks the formality and seriousness and gives comedic relief. Please post again if there are anything else you remember.

January 18, 2021 9:24 p.m.

shadow63 says... #6

That lovestruck beast one is is top notch

January 18, 2021 9:35 p.m.

RiotRunner789 says... #7

Apex Devastator

"...the stack can get messy, we wish you luck."

January 18, 2021 10:29 p.m.

berryjon says... #8

Any card that references Food Tokens also has the rules text to not actually eat the Food token.

January 19, 2021 1:04 a.m.

Caerwyn says... #9

Mairsil, the Pretender - "If Mairsil has an equip ability, activating it won’t cause anything to happen. Mairsil doesn’t become attached to a creature. They may remain friends."

Plaguecrafter - "Plaguecrafter can be the creature its controller sacrifices for its own ability. Don’t be like Plaguecrafter; always wear personal protective equipment when performing dangerous work."

January 19, 2021 2:20 a.m. Edited.

StopShot says... #10

Cards like Damnation and other cards from the Planar Chaos set sometimes have special rulings denoting what card they are “time-shifted” from - in this case Wrath of God.

January 19, 2021 4:03 a.m.

sergiodelrio says... #11

Candles of Leng

"Unless something weird happens, the card that’s drawn will be the card that was revealed."

January 19, 2021 5:54 a.m.

Suns_Champion says... #12

Humble Defector: "If Humble Defector’s owner leaves the game, Humble Defector humbly leaves the game along with that player."

January 19, 2021 3:44 p.m.

FSims81 says... #13

Bridge from Below: "While Bridge from Below is on the battlefield, it has no effect. It does something only if it’s in a graveyard. Yes, this is a bit weird."

January 19, 2021 4:49 p.m.

1empyrean says... #14

Giant's Skewer - "Whatever you do, don’t eat the delicious cards."

January 19, 2021 5:05 p.m.

Raknulfr says... #15

My personal favourite is for Rhythm of the Wild

"If a creature enters the battlefield with two instances of riot, you may choose to have it get two +1/+1 counters, one +1/+1 counter and haste, or two instances of haste. Multiple instances of haste on the same creature are redundant, but we’re not going to tell the Gruul how to live their lives."

January 20, 2021 3:33 a.m.

Flooremoji says... #16

Zodiac Dragon: "Even though Zodiac Dragon is a Dragon, it doesn’t have flying."

January 21, 2021 1:04 a.m.

DemonDragonJ says... #17

I like how Island of Wak-Wak has a reminder that "this is not an island."

January 26, 2021 10:30 p.m.

Please login to comment