hey, so this might be a stupid question, but....

General forum

Posted on Sept. 23, 2013, 2:10 p.m. by vivforvivir

Joiner Adept 's abiliity.... is that in addition to the mana the land already produces? if so.... I'm looking for joiner adepts.

Uzumaki1 says... #2

I wouldn't think so, I assume its just a colour fixer, the ruling should be on gatherer.

September 23, 2013 2:15 p.m.

SharuumNyan says... #3

Yes.

September 23, 2013 2:15 p.m.

DrFunk27 says... #4

Yes, although it doesn't matter because it would be every land in addition to the actual land it is. The only time it would matter is if Joiner Adept dies then you would obviously only have the land for what it's worth.

September 23, 2013 2:16 p.m.

SharuumNyan says... #5

Sorry, posted before I finished. That was a "yes" to what Uzumaki1 said. It's a color fixer.

September 23, 2013 2:16 p.m.

SharuumNyan says... #6

Arg, posted again too soon! Basically, you have to tap your land to add mana, and with Joiner's ability you also have to tap your land....and you can only tap it once.

September 23, 2013 2:18 p.m.

All lands come with a number of built-in activated abilities. These are generally
T: Add (mana) to your mana pool.

Joiner Adept grants each of your lands an additional activated ability. This ability is activated separately from any other abilities the land may have. Because most land abilities require them to tap (including the one granted by JA), you will usually only be able to use one of those abilities in any given turn.


tldr: If Joiner Adept is on the field, you can either tap your lands for whatever mana they could already give you OR tap your lands for one mana of any color. You cannot do both.

September 23, 2013 2:20 p.m.

Unforgivn_II says... #8

No, it gives the land two tap abilities (assuming it is basic). The first is its regular tap abilility ("T: add G to your mana pool" for a forest) and the second, which is "T: add one mana of any color to your mana pool" from the Joiner Adept .

You can only choose one, since both abilities require tapping. Meaning you only get one mana from each land (assuming there are no other effects on the field).

September 23, 2013 2:20 p.m.

Unforgivn_II says... #9

DANG I started my comment when there were 2 responses...

September 23, 2013 2:21 p.m.

Uzumaki1 says... #10

It is especially usefull for utility lands that don't produce mana or just colourless mana. And technically this should be in Q&A

September 23, 2013 2:23 p.m.

Uzumaki1 says... #11

a bit like trading post :)

Right I'm going to stop now

September 23, 2013 2:28 p.m.

Because there appears to be some confusion in this thread, I'll clarify:

landgrafb and Unforgivn_II are correct. Joiner Adept does not allow lands to tap for two mana. It merely adds an additional, separate activated mana ability.

Also questions like this belong in the Q&A.

September 23, 2013 2:33 p.m.

SharuumNyan says... #13

When you compared that to trading post I got an idea for a new card!

Goat Incubator

All lands you control have "(tap) Put a 0/1 white Goat token creature token onto the battlefield."

September 23, 2013 2:38 p.m.

@SharuumNyan: The concept of a "goat incubator" disturbs and unsettles me.

September 23, 2013 2:41 p.m.

Unforgivn_II says... #15

That seems pretty broken. Free, mass, instant-speed token generation?

September 23, 2013 3 p.m.

erabel says... #16

I want a Goat Incubator. Or a Squirrel Incubator.

September 23, 2013 3:20 p.m.

I too want a goat incubator.

September 23, 2013 3:39 p.m.

to the custom cards forum! --->

September 23, 2013 3:50 p.m.

Uzumaki1 says... #19

No, squirrel!

September 23, 2013 6:44 p.m.

This discussion has been closed