A question about Havengul Lich
General forum
Posted on Aug. 26, 2012, 10:36 a.m. by jermtube
when i pay the 1 colorless to activate Havengul Lich s ability, i still need the appropriate mana to cast the creature from a graveyard. so, if my opponent isnt using black or blue mana (and thats all the colors im using myself) i wouldnt be able to cast the creature from their graveyard to my control?
some dual lands may help me out, in that case. the deck i'd like to use the Lich in is deck:zombie-nation-06-08-12-1, but maybe i'd only need 1 instead of 2 since its a little trickier to get my opponent's dead creatures into my zombie horde
August 26, 2012 11:27 a.m.
TheOne4221 says... #4
Things like Shimmering Grotto can be used to help out with not having the right mana. Or you could go BUG and throw in BoPs.
August 26, 2012 2:39 p.m.
Shimmering Grotto would be great but i'm trying to keep it standard.
August 26, 2012 6:41 p.m.
ozzynomicon says... #6
sphere of the sun til it drops, birds or even cavern of souls and declare their creature types and use them to your advantage or even the bug version for green that has alot of mana fixing
August 26, 2012 6:54 p.m.
oh wow yea Cavern of Souls would be perfect, especially since its an all-zombie deck i'm working on for the Lich so it can work both ways. if only they weren't so hard to get!
August 26, 2012 7:14 p.m.
TheOne4221 says... #8
Shimmering Grotto was in Innistrad before Planechase. It's still standard.
August 26, 2012 7:41 p.m.
hunter9000 says... #9
Shimmering Grotto is standard, it was printed in Innistrad.
Geoxis says... #2
unless you have the correct colors of mana from that creatures mana cost you cannot cast it with the lich ability.
ALTHOUGH
if you are playing casually you can ignore that rule if you have Mycosynth Lattice in play :) one of my favorite cards
August 26, 2012 10:47 a.m.