Strive Mechanic

Deck Help forum

Posted on Nov. 9, 2023, 9:25 a.m. by BrickMaster28

In my deck I am running Harness by Force and Anhelo, the Painter. If I cast Harness by Force as the first sorcery of my turn and I pay the strive cost ({2}{R} + {1}{R}{R}) to target a second creature, then sacrifice an appropriate creature to copy it (since Anhelo gives it Casualty 2) - what spell would get copied?

Would the copy be with the strive cost (to target two creatures) or without the strive cost (to target one creature)?

Thank you in advance for your help!

DreadKhan says... #2

When you copy a spell that has any variables, those variables are kept the same unless otherwise stated, so if you've used Strive twice (for a total of 3 targets) and copy it, the copy will have 3 targets as well. I think most copy abilities that target spells let you change the targets, but you rarely can adjust any other variables, Anhelo for example will let you change the targets for the copied spell.

November 9, 2023 9:49 a.m.

Please login to comment