Wait, a 4-sided Commander?? :)
Posted on May 2, 2021, 12:33 p.m. by Mcat1999
Akima, Eager Pupil
Legendary Creature - Human
Whenever you cast three or more spells with different types during a turn, flip Akima.
Akima, Honed Warrior
Legendary Creature - Human Monk
When Akima deals 12 or more combat damage in a single turn, transform him.
Akima, Master of Center
Legendary Creature - Human Monk
If creatures, spells or abilities you control make an opponent lose the game, flip Akima.
Akima, Spiritual Ascension
Legendary Enchantment Creature - Spirit Monk
At the beginning of your upkeep, if you have the highest life total, you win the game.
This is like a weird level up creature, but I kinda like it.
Personally I would have made it go from creature to planeswalker, then enchantment, then artifact (the relic left behind after ascension). But that's just because I'm weird.
May 2, 2021 1:55 p.m.
Its weird and crazy. Honestly I would get lost with the many sides :)
May 2, 2021 1:57 p.m.
I tried to get each side to lean into a singular color. First tis blue with casting multiple spells. Second is green with dealing tons of damage, which could be easily done with the first side.
Play Akima, either on your next turn or if you have plenty of mana open hit him with an instant, a sorcery and maybe a mana rock to pump him up. Hit for 12 and flip again.
This side is harder to justify, but causing someone to lose the game does feel red. Granted perhaps more Rakdos, but red nonetheless.
As for the final one, several white wincons ask for higher life totals, so this feels appropriate.
May 2, 2021 2:15 p.m.
1empyrean, a Planeswalker wouldn't work. You are basically limited to one sentence per "side". An artifact, however, would.
May 2, 2021 3:10 p.m.
Mcat1999 That's true, but it's a custom card, whether that matters is up to you. Assigning each side a color is definitely easier, so I can see why the card ended up the way it did.
May 2, 2021 3:30 p.m.
For part 2 you need a way to track the damage. Also hes called a warrior but not the warrior sub type?
May 2, 2021 6:47 p.m.
Added text to phase 2.
As for Warrior, it doesn't make sense to add it just to remove it later. He gains the Enchantment type, so the text line would be too long for the box.
May 2, 2021 6:54 p.m.
If anyone has a good name for phase two, I'm open to change it :)
May 2, 2021 6:58 p.m.
Wouldn't this just have the color identity of the front side of the card?
May 2, 2021 9:32 p.m.
Last_Laugh the official rules say this:
903.4d The back face of a double-faced card (see rule 711) is included when determining a card’s color identity. This is an exception to rule 711.4a. Example: Civilized Scholar Flip is the front face of a double-faced card with mana cost . Homicidal Brute is the back face of that double-faced card and has a red color indicator. The card’s color identity is blue and red.
May 2, 2021 9:54 p.m.
Ok, it's the "color indicator" part that threw me off. I knew flip Avacyn is considered white only. Aside from the backside being colored red, there is no red mana symbol... makes sense.
May 2, 2021 10:07 p.m.
Yes, the card would need a special color indicator before the Legendary Creature typeline. This indicator would need to be 4-colors, so in quadrants.
Or, WOTC could put a rules addendum on Gatherer explicitly stating it's color.
But yes, you are correct
May 2, 2021 11 p.m.
You forgot that he could also be played as a Morph creature to have, technically, Five sides.
May 3, 2021 11:58 p.m.
berryjon, why stop there? Let's make a second one and give them Meld! Lmao