infinite combo?

Commander (EDH) forum

Posted on Aug. 29, 2021, 12:51 a.m. by lordwrath

Xorn, Academy Manufacturer, and anything that generates a food, clue, or treasure. does this create infinite card draw, infinite life, and infinite colored mana. also dont know why academy manufacturer is in another language.

DrukenReaps says... #2

This would be better in Rules Q&A.

I think the most relevant thing I found was rule 614.5 so-

614.5 A replacement effect doesn’t invoke itself repeatedly; it gets only one opportunity to affect an event or any modified events that may replace that event.

The following is their example: A player controls two permanents, each with an ability that reads “If a creature you control would deal damage to a permanent or player, it deals double that damage to that permanent or player instead.” A creature that normally deals 2 damage will deal 8 damage—not just 4, and not an infinite amount.

With this rule in mind the end result should be 2 treasure, 1 food, 1 clue assuming only 1 token was being made by the original effect like Plundering Barbarian.

If you were to cast Contract Killing you get 3 treasure, 1 food, 1 clue.

August 29, 2021 1:15 a.m.

SynergyBuild says... #3

*Academy Manufactor, and DrukenReaps is essentially correct, but you can choose to order Xorn first to make two of both.

August 29, 2021 1:21 a.m.

One quick addition: I'm bery sure Contract Killing with Manufactor would result in two of each of the three token types as Manufactor doesn't say a word about "one ore more".

August 29, 2021 6:41 a.m.

TypicalTimmy says... #5

Aren't these both replacement effects? And don't replacement effects typically not bounce off each other? For example, Parallel Lives and Anointed Procession do not yield infinite tokens?

August 29, 2021 10:16 p.m.

rb701 says... #6

unfortunately no. replacement/modify effects such as Parallel Lives and Anointed Procession used in tandem are just multipliers; they don't actually react the way you are describing

when it comes to infinite combos, its easiest to compare to simpler ones that fall under 2 categories - controlled and uncontrolled

controlled - Gilded Lotus, Captain of the Mists, and Illusionist's Bracers create a controlled infinite mana combo. so long as i choose to make it happen, it does. while there are lots more like this, it doesn't change the circumstance

uncontrolled - Life and Limb, Sporemound create an uncontrolled combo due to modify and ability. because LaL is turning forests and saprolings into a unified type, and Sporemound triggers due to a land coming in to play, it is a continuous unbreakable loop. in terms of this, when it comes to competitive play, you have to define a limit (ie "i make ten million tokens"); however, you must be able to prove the existence of said limit, or be disqualified. i had this clarified by a local game store whom the owner regularly attends tournaments. when it comes to uncontrolled combos, you want to try to add in an element that allows a slight amount of control through continuous checks - in this case, i used Pandemonium. as each creature came in, it dealt damage to the opponent, and a life check would have to happen

hope this helps

August 31, 2021 10:29 a.m.

Please login to comment