Transcendence

Transcendence

Enchantment

You don't lose the game for having 0 or less life.

When you have 20 or more life, you lose the game.

Whenever you lose life, you gain 2 life for each 1 life you lost. (Damage dealt to you causes you to lose life.)

Latest Decks as Commander

Transcendence Discussion

legendofa on What are some combos that …

21 hours ago

There are a handful of combos that create unbreakable loops without winning--the one that comes to my mind is Sporemound and Life and Limb.

I guess you could set up something like Ash Zealot and Past in Flames, or put a Transcendence in a life gain deck.

What are you trying to accomplish with this idea?

Neotrup on Will Zedruu+Transcendence+Tales End+gifting to opponent …

1 month ago

@RonPaul21 is correct, the state-triggered ability can't trigger again, even though the control changed. Also, nothing is sending Transcendence to the graveyard. Either the game is over, in which case zones don't really exist, or Zedruu's control changing effect expires with Transcendence's new controller leaving the game, causing it to return to Zedruu's controller and trigger again, as it's trigger just resolved and it's condition is now met again.

legendofa on Will Zedruu+Transcendence+Tales End+gifting to opponent …

1 month ago

Working through this step by step:

Starting point: Zedruu the Greathearted is on the battlefield and two players are at 21 life.

Step 1: Cast Transcendence. It resolves. The "20 or more life" ability triggers and goes on the stack.

Step 2: Before the triggered ability resolves, cast Tale's End targeting the triggered ability of Transcendence.

Step 3: Before Tale's End resolves, activate Zedruu's gifting ability, targeting Transcendence. It resolves, and an opponent gains control of Transcendence. State-based effects are checked, and Transcendence triggers for the opponent, putting the ability on the stack.

Step 4: The Transcendence ability affecting the opponent resolves, and that opponent loses. Transcendence is put into your graveyard.

Step 5: Tale's End resolves, countering the Transcendence ability affecting you. The stack is now empty.

Final result: One opponent has lost, and Transcendence is in your graveyard.

RonPaul21 on Will Zedruu+Transcendence+Tales End+gifting to opponent …

1 month ago

If Zedruu the Greathearted is on the battlefield under my control, I have more than 20 life, and I cast Transcendence then cast Tale's End in response to, and countering, the transcendence "loss" trigger, THEN, in response to that, used Zedruu's ability to gift Transcendence to an opponent with more than 20 life, would that make ONLY my opponent lose the game?

Trying to keep this brief due to the rules, but can go into detail if needed!

Tzefick on Barabbas, False Prophet

10 months ago

I would always try to pair these types of effects with Sulfuric Vortex , Leyline of Punishment , Witch Hunt or their ilk.

I don't think it's a bad thing to change it to trigger on life loss. Transcendence works with Evra, Halcyon Witness . Whenever you activate her ability while having more life than she has power, you lose that life and then gain double back, effectively gaining the difference in life. You still have more life than Evra has power, so you can keep pumping up her power and your life total. Then you can finish with Chandra's Ignition . Granted that's a lot of mana.

Transcendence has the issue that it immediately kills you at 20+ life, while a modernized version with a softer drawback could be utilized in interesting fashion.

If it only triggers on damage, it is effectively a catch-all against black's life drain abilities and it means you can freely pay life to keep below the threshold - eliminating the drawback. And it is a creature, so black has plenty of ways to sacrifice it to get out of the drawback. All-in-all I don't think it needs to be easy to eliminate the drawback, because it is easy to get rid of the effect.

DemonDragonJ on Barabbas, False Prophet

11 months ago

Grubbernaut, whatever strategy works with Transcendence will work with this card, as well; I imagine that the best strategy is to use the damage-preventing ability to keep one's self alive while assembling one's win condition, before they lose due to Barabbas's final ability.

DemonDragonJ on Barabbas, False Prophet

11 months ago

Transcendence is a very interesting card, one that requires a very careful strategy to use properly, so I wished to make a creature with the abilities of that card, and this is what I produced.

Barabbas, False Prophet Show

This creature does not exactly copy the abilities of Transcendence , but instead has my own variations of them, including the game loss ability being a triggered ability, rather than a static ability, and the threshold for losing being dependent upon the player's starting life total, rather than a fixed amount of life.

What does everyone else say about this card? Do you like it?

Load more