The Royal Scions

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vintage Legal

The Royal Scions

Legendary Planeswalker — Will Rowan

+1: Draw a card, then discard a card.

+1: Target creature gets +2/+0 and gains first strike and trample until end of turn.

-8: Draw four cards. When you do, the Royal Scions deals damage to target creature, player or planeswalker equal to the number of cards in your hand.

TypicalTimmy on Do we know what Plane …

3 months ago

I suspect the reason such a majority of Planeswalkers have no mention of a home world is because there had only been a dozen or so Planes. It would not make sense, from a world building perspective, to have so many Planeswalkers from so few of worlds. So you casually shrug with a smirk and say you don't know where they came from, and fill in the blanks later.

Unfortunately, with 3 and 2 block sets, later was years and years down the road. With trying to keep the game "relevant", returning to worlds that worked such as Ravnica, Zendikar and Innistrad made the most sense. Which, inevitably, meant those walkers without world's still had no world's.

Now, one of the benefits (used very loosely) of having 1-block sets is you can explore numerous Planes within a single year - giving rise to rehoming all of these little rascals. We have gotten the names of Elspeth's world (Ehh, sort of?), Vivian's, The Royal Scions, Kaya's, and I think a few others. I don't believe we have Kasmina's yet but she's on Strixhaven. If I had to guess, she's also from Dominaria. I'd suspect post-Mending although I'd love to see her pre-Mending.

And as I stated, I personally suspect Ashiok is from Tarkir, based on how he dresses, speaks, acts and how his powers align. But again, that's a discussion for another thread.

So moving forward I believe we will tie up more and more loose ends. But for now, my guess is that Garruk is from Bretagard on Kaldheim.

Rhadamanthus on How Do Reflexive Triggers affect …

4 months ago

Your opponent loses and you don't take any damage.

A player losing for trying to draw from an empty library since the last time state-based actions (SBAs) were checked is itself one of the SBAs that are checked and executed right before each time a player would receive priority. This means your opponent leaves the game right before the trigger from The Royal Scions' last ability is put onto the stack. Since that trigger would be controlled by someone who has left the game, it isn't put onto the stack.

Delphen7 on How Do Reflexive Triggers affect …

4 months ago

This almost happened on Arena, and I was wondering what would happen.

Opponent controls The Royal Scions and Teferi's Ageless Insight. Opponent activates The Royal Scions' -8, drawing 5 cards before their library is empty. That satisfies The Royal Scions' reflexive trigger, dealing lethal damage to me.

Who loses first? Normally since it's the same ability, I would assume it's both of us, but since in this case opponent definitively drew from empty library before I was dealt damage, I'm just making sure

TypicalTimmy on Card creation challenge

5 months ago

Pot of Espresso

Artifact - Food

, sacrifice Pot of Espresso: Target creature gains haste until end of turn.

, , sacrifice Pot of Espresso: The next spell you cast has flash until end of turn.

For when three shots isn't enough.


I don't know if this is true as I did not read War of the Spark and whatever the follow-up novel was, but I was recently watching a YouTube video that said Huatli and Saheeli are in a relationship now?

Is that true?

Okay well whatever, make a Planeswalker card similar to The Royal Scions where it had both Huatli and Saheeli on it.

TypicalTimmy on Acorn, Nature's Blessing

6 months ago

Probably two years ago or so now I created a Planeswalker concept named Acorn.

Acorn is a Red Squirrel, native to Kaladesh. The story is that when The Weatherlight was at port in Kaladesh, resupplying and trading magical instruments and technology, a squirrel boarded their ship, made its way into the hull and began to feed upon some of the various grains. Nobody realized the silly rascal had boarded, and upon departure to Zendikar, something catastrophic happened to the little girl.

The stress of intra-planar travel was immense, but she was protected by the ship's magics and technologies. Normally only living, sapient creatures can have sparks, but we have seen a few times now where this is an exception. For one, Karn was gifted a spark but this proves that non-living beings are capable of retaining one. Then, Calix, Destiny's Hand was created by the God Klothys, God of Destiny which proves non-living creatures can further have sparks. Finally, Ob Nixilis Reignited not only lost his spark, but reforged it which proves sparks can be recreated. Further still we see with The Royal Scions that a spark can be shared, as well as divided as seen with Ugin and Nicol Bolas. So, clearly sparks are not as concrete as we once believed. Just look at Grist, the Hunger Tide as another recent example.

And so, the stress of her little body being pulled in opposite directions caused the formation of a spark.

Acorn developed an almost Human-like intelligence, akin to a smart child. Her powers are basically all revolve around the idea of "foraging" - finding lands, food, Squirrel tokens, generating mana and even drawing from Kaladesh, when appropriate.

Acorn, Nature's Blessing

I updated her abilities. Image link for her photo broke so I'll fix it later when I'm not on the road.

DreadKhan on

9 months ago

If you like Sanguine Bond, you could try Vito, Thorn of the Dusk Rose and Heartless Hidetsugu, which Sisay can fetch out for you when you're ready to win. Just activate Vito, then activate Heartless to win.

The Royal Scions and Rhys the Redeemed are a good way to kickstart Sisay, so you can find almost anything else you'd want after (this allows you to fetch 7 drops, including Chromatic Orrery, which will let you activate Sisay again immediately). If it isn't, something like Judith, the Scourge Diva gives another +1 and fills out your colours, so you can fetch up to a 9 MV Legendary, in addition to being able to swing with a 10 power First Strike Trample Sisay. Jegantha, the Wellspring is a handy card in a deck like this, probably in the 99, but some people run it as a Companion even. Faeburrow Elder and if you have the budget Bloom Tender are both very good inclusions if you are already running untap enchantments/effects, as is Ley Weaver. She goes infinite with lands and Freed from the Real, and her Partner, Lore Weaver just wins on the spot with infinite mana via decking everyone else. It's cute that they find each other, but it also means you get access to them more often.

Lots of cool stuff in here to think about for my own Sisay WIP! Hope these ideas aren't too 'try hard' for you!

Neotrup on How does Sorin, Imperious Bloodlord's …

10 months ago

@Rhadamanthus those rules don't refer to reflexive triggers, which are just governed by the following:

603.12. A resolving spell or ability may allow or instruct a player to take an action and create a triggered ability that triggers "when [a player] [does or doesn't]" take that action or "when [something happens] this way." These reflexive triggered abilities follow the rules for delayed triggered abilities (see rule 603.7), except that they're checked immediately after being created and trigger based on whether the trigger event or events occurred earlier during the resolution of the spell or ability that created them.

If the event is replaced, it didn't happen so the reflexive triggered doesn't occur, unlike with an "if you do" clause addressed by the rules you referenced. This difference can be seen in the Gatherer rulings for The Royal Scions:

10/4/2019 If you draw fewer than four cards while resolving the last ability of The Royal Scions, its reflexive triggered ability doesn't trigger.

Rhadamanthus on How does Sorin, Imperious Bloodlord's …

10 months ago

@Neotrup: In your example with The Royal Scions, dredging the 4th card will still trigger the reflexive triggered ability. A "when you do..." check will succeed as long as the player started to take the action, even if the expected result of taking that action got replaced with a different result.

118.11. The actions performed when paying a cost may be modified by effects. Even if they are, meaning the actions that are performed don’t match the actions that are called for, the cost has still been paid.

118.12. Some spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities read, “[Do something]. If [a player] [does, doesn’t, or can’t], [effect].” Or “[A player] may [do something]. If [that player] [does, doesn’t, or can’t], [effect].” The action [do something] is a cost, paid when the spell or ability resolves. The “If [a player] [does, doesn’t, or can’t]” clause checks whether the player chose to pay an optional cost or started to pay a mandatory cost, regardless of what events actually occurred.

Load more
Have (2) sepheroth119 , gildan_bladeborn
Want (0)