
Combos Browse all Suggest
Legality
Format | Legality |
1v1 Commander | Legal |
Arena | Legal |
Block Constructed | Legal |
Canadian Highlander | Legal |
Casual | Legal |
Commander / EDH | Legal |
Commander: Rule 0 | Legal |
Custom | Legal |
Duel Commander | Legal |
Gladiator | Legal |
Highlander | Legal |
Historic | Legal |
Historic Brawl | Legal |
Legacy | Legal |
Leviathan | Legal |
Limited | Legal |
Modern | Legal |
Oathbreaker | Legal |
Planar Constructed | Legal |
Tiny Leaders | Legal |
Vintage | Legal |
Shifting Woodland
Land
Shifting Woodland enters the battlefield tapped unless you control a Forest.
: Add G.
Delirium — : Shifting Woodland becomes a copy of target permanent card in your graveyard until end of turn. Activate this ability only if there are four or more card types among cards in your graveyard.







Neotrup on How would Shifting Woodland interact …
2 weeks ago
A couple points of clarification:
If Shifting Woodland becomes a copy of a room, initially both sides will be locked, however it will remember which sides you unlock. So if you have it copy Moldering Gym / Weight Room and unlock the Gym to find a land, then next turn use the Delirium ability to copy Walk-In Closet / Forgotten Cellar you will be able to play lands from your graveyard, as you already unlocked the left room, even though it was a different room when you unlocked it.
709.5c "Left half unlocked" and "right half unlocked" are designations that a permanent on the battlefield can have. Together, they are called the unlocked designations. A particular half of a permanent is said to be "unlocked" if it has the appropriate unlocked designation. Otherwise, that half is said to be "locked."
Shifting Woodland does in fact keep the levels, but does not remember what they are. So if you make it a copy of Scavenger's Talent and level it up to level 2, it will have ability for the remainder of the turn, but lose it once it stops being a copy. If next turn you copy Druid Class you'll be able to play an additional land as it's already level 2. If you instead turn it into Warlock Class you will not be able to use it's level 2 ability as it is already level 2 so there's never a time it becomes level 2. You can still level it to level 3 in either case.
716.2b A level is a designation that any permanent can have. A Class retains its level even if it stops being a Class. Levels are not a copiable characteristic.
While the reminder text for Saga's says "after your draw step," it specifically adds the counter during your precombat main phase. This means after you draw for turn and see your new card, you can still activate Shifting Woodland to copy a saga and get the 1st counter to trigger that ability.
505.4. Second, if the active player controls one or more Saga enchantments and it's the active player's precombat main phase, the active player puts a lore counter on each Saga they control. (See rule 714, "Saga Cards.") This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack.
Polaris on How would Shifting Woodland interact …
2 weeks ago
Shifting Woodland becoming a copy of a card doesn't involve it entering the battlefield. It gains the card's copiable characteristics as soon as the ability resolves. With that in mind:
-
Shifting Woodland will become a Nissa of Shadowed Boughs with no loyalty counters on it (as it didn't enter the battlefield), and immediately after the copy ability resolves it will be put into your graveyard as a state-based action. This happens before you gain priority, so you will not be able to activate any abilities.
-
By default, the rooms on a Room card are locked. When you cast one side of the card, that room unlocks as it enters. Since Shifting Woodland isn't copying a spell, it will become a copy of Walk-In Closet / Forgotten Cellar with both rooms locked. You have to pay the cost to unlock each room you want to use. See the Oracle ruling: If a Room enters from any zone other than the stack, it will enter with both halves locked. (This isn't entering that way, but it's also not entering at all.)
-
Yes, you can level up a Class card that Shifting Woodland becomes a copy of. It won't keep the levels once it stops being a copy, but it does gain all the abilities of Scavenger's Talent including the ability to level up for the turn.
-
No abilities. See the Oracle ruling: If you somehow control Barrensteppe Siege and no choice was made for it (perhaps because another permanent on the battlefield became a copy of it), it has neither of the two abilities.
-
You don't get priority during the untap step, but you do gain priority during your upkeep. At this point, you can activate Shifting Woodland and make it a copy of a Saga like Battle for Bretagard. After the upkeep step is your draw step, which will trigger the Saga as usual. At the end of the turn (during the cleanup step), Shifting Woodland will stop being a copy, but the lore counter will remain—if you do this again, you will get the II ability of Battle for Bretagard, and if you do it a third time it will trigger the III ability and then sacrifice itself.
DeathBySprnkles on How would Shifting Woodland interact …
2 weeks ago
Sorry in advance for all the questions
-
I have Shifting Woodland with the Delirium ability available on the field. Say I choose a Planewalker like Nissa of Shadowed Boughs from the graveyard, does it become Nissa with Loyalty counters? Would I be able to do the {{+1}} Loyalty or would Shifting Woodland be destroyed because it had no loyalties to begin with?
-
I have Shifting Woodland with the Delirium ability available on the field. Say I choose the enchantment Walk-In Closet / Forgotten Cellar, do I get one or both sides? Do I choose if it's only one? Does the door unlock if I would choose the Cellar?
-
I have Shifting Woodland with the Delirium ability available on the field. Say I choose the enchantment Scavenger's Talent, can I level it up to get the benefits for the turn?
-
I have Shifting Woodland with the Delirium ability available on the field. Say I choose the enchantment Barrensteppe Siege, do I get to choose what mode it has or is a dud because it never entered thus not allowing me to choose?
-
I have Shifting Woodland with the Delirium ability available on the field. Say I choose an enchantment saga like Battle for Bretagard before my draw step, would I be able to get the first lore counter of the card for the turn before it reverts back to the standard Shifting Woodland.
capwner on
I wanna play Yu-Gi-Oh but WOTC doesn't let me
4 months ago
Hey, what do you think about Devoted Druid? 2-drop body that eldritches into Kona, also ramps 2 which means you wouldn't need a third land drop or it nets an extra mana for Veil of Summer or other protection on turn 3. I'd rec running something like this or Vines of Vastwood to protect Kona since your whole deck revolves around them surviving past combat! Another idea would be to add Shifting Woodland and dig cards like Cache Grab to provide an alternate angle by which to win with Omniscience. Cool idea, Kona has a really powerful effect and if you can slam it on turn 3 consistently that's awesome. With a little polishing up I think this deck could be reasonably competitive!
Neotrup on How do timestamps apply when …
7 months ago
They'll have a maximum hand size of 3 or less. When Shifting Woodland's ability resolves, the ability of Winter, Misanthropic Guide is generated with a new timestamp. Even though Shifting Woodland entered before Reliquary Tower, the ability in question has a later timestamp so will be applied after. Reliquary Tower will first remove the maximum hand size, then Winter will re-add it and reduce it, effectively winning out.
Yesterday on How do timestamps apply when …
7 months ago
I have delirium, and I control a Shifting Woodland. An opponent has a Reliquary Tower which entered after my Shifting Woodland. If I activate the Shifting Woodland's ability to become a copy of Winter, Misanthropic Guide, does that opponent have no maximum hand size, or [Winter 3-] hand size?
Have (1) | jhTheMan99 |
Want (2) | XxSirKittehxX , beesaurs |