Scute Swarm

Combos Browse all Suggest

Tokens

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Historic Brawl Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planechase Legal
Pre-release Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Standard Legal
Standard Brawl Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Scute Swarm

Creature — Insect

Landfall — Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control, create a 1/1 green Insect creature token. If you control six or more lands, create a token that’s a copy of Scute Swarm instead.

Crow_Umbra on Why Does Xavier Sal Have …

1 week ago

Having recently played against a friend's new Xavier Sal Super Friends deck, I am absolutely fine with his activation speed being at Sorcery speed lol. Also as someone that used to play Zimone and Dina, I'm sure my friends would have appreciated that their second ability be sorcery speed for activation, especially given all those Landfall synergies (looking at you Scute Swarm lol).

Gidgetimer on How will this trigger with …

2 weeks ago

You play the land and the Scute Swarm triggers three times, putting three abilities to copy itself on the stack. Each trigger makes one copy. You end up with 4 total Scute Swarms.

By the time any of the three triggers resolve the land has already entered and will not trigger any of the copies.

xxfreaknricanxx on How will this trigger with …

2 weeks ago

I have a scute swarm, ancient greenwarden and a Virtue of Knowledge in play.i play a single land to trigger land fall how many scute swarms of made for the first trigger. How would this trigger doe future runes with more scute swarms in the table.

Scute Swarm Ancient Greenwarden Virtue of Knowledge

Gidgetimer on Scute Swarm and Callidus Assassin …

4 months ago

Copiable values of an object are the printed values of the object as modified by previous copy effects, facedown status, and replacement effects that set P/T. Callidus Assassin's own copy effect made it exactly Scute Swarm with the added ability "When this creature enters the battlefield, destroy up to one other target creature with the same name as this creature." So the token copies made by the landfall ability are exactly Scute Swarm with the added ability "When this creature enters the battlefield, destroy up to one other target creature with the same name as this creature."

707.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The copiable values are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, counters, and stickers are not copied.

OxygenDestroyer65 on Scute Swarm and Callidus Assassin …

4 months ago

If I cast Callidus Assassin and destroy a Scute Swarm, how do I handle the copies that will be created when I put lands onto the battlefield if I control 6 or more lands? Do I create a copy of the "scute" Callidus, which then enters as a copy of something else and destroys whatever I decide to copy? I don't think each Callidus copy retains the Scute's ability to copy itself, except the first one. I might be overcomplicating this. Thank you!

mudkipdude on Card creation challenge

5 months ago

Limitless feast

Legendary sorcery

Recursion 3

Create a food token

When a void counter is removed off this card while it is exile, create a copy of it with three void counters and a feast counter. If this card has a feast counter on it, the copy gets an additional feast counter. If this card has 2 feast counters on it, this ability doesn’t activate.

Wordy. I love the cards that create copies of themself, with the ability that makes the copy, like Scute Swarm, this card, Compy Swarm and Progenitor Mimic. So let’s see one of those

Crow_Umbra on Smeagol will guide you | **Primer v2.0**

10 months ago

Hi there, thank you for reaching out. I hope my suggestions will be helpful, but here are some things I noticed when I took a look at your deck:

If you haven't already, I would recommend checking out EDHREC's page on Smeagol, Helpful Guide, here are the pages for a Sacrifice themed deck and a more Landfall focused deck. These pages can give you an idea of which effects overlap between the two strats, and what might be within your budget.

I hope these suggestions were helpful.

Load more