Combos Browse all Suggest
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
|Commander: Rule 0||Legal|
Rona, Disciple of Gix
Legendary Creature — Human Artificer
When Rona, Disciple of Gix enters the battlefield, you may exile target historic card from your graveyard. (Artifacts, legendaries, and Sagas are historic.)
You may cast nonland cards exiled with Rona.
, : Exile the top card of your library.
Recommendations View more recommendations
1 month ago
Counters can work in a couple different ways depending on the card. As mentioned, both your examples will only work while the creature is around, but if a second copy of the creature is played it can use the counts. This method is used by a number of Legendary creatures like Grolnok, the Omnivore and Mairsil, the Pretender so that if you have them as your commander and they die, you can replay them and they'll still see the things they exiled, in contrast to things like Kaho, Minamo Historian or Rona, Disciple of Gix that forget about things they exiled since they're a new creature (even though they're the same card that exiled them).
Some other effects that use counters will grant an ability for as long as the counter is in play (as opposed to the source of the counter), or grant an ability in addition to the counter, where the counter doesn't actually do anything but is placed there as a physical reminder that the permanent gained the ability. Obsidian Fireheart is an example of the first, the blaze counter doesn't actually do anything, but if it is removed the land loses the upkeep trigger. The Book of Exalted Deeds is an example of the latter, even if the counter is removed the ability remains, but the counter serves as a reminder of which angel has the ability.
10 months ago
also i forgot to mention but the reason i made Gix do the exiling thing is because of Rona, Disciple of Gix
11 months ago
I messed around with a Rona, Disciple of Gix deck based on artifact sac recently. Had quite a few cards in common with this build like Mirrodin Besieged , Marionette Master , etc. It never saw actual play, but in my playtesting, it was surprisingly complex and seemed like it had potential. Sadly, Rona herself isn't the greatest and I scrapped it.
I love the red splash here. Maybe that's what that deck was missing. This deck looks pretty good!
1 year ago
I don't remember it, but idk? There's a very real chance I've personally done it before, lol.
Based on Rona, Disciple of Gix:
Rona's Planar Inversion
Return all permanents to their owner's hand. Then each player discards their hand. Then return all instant and sorcery spells in exile to their owner's hand and all permanent cards in exile to the battlefield under their owner's control. Exile all graveyards.
So this exiles all cards in hand, play, and the graveyard. It takes all cards not exiled this way and puts them into play
, , , , , Remain
2 years ago
Wouldn't any card exiled by Rona, Disciple of Gix lose the "exiled by Rona" clause upon cast from exile as she will no longer be able to read the card in question?
Take for example, Godsend. If the exiled creature returns from exile through any means, Godsend loses its ability as it can no longer read the card in question. Even if that same creature were to be put back into exile by another source, Godsend would not regain the lock ability because it is no longer a creature exiled by it, despite previously exiling it from the board.
It is loosely the same concept as I believe Rona would no longer be able to read Regardless, nice build :)
2 years ago
Anybody still interested? Maybe the Yidris CHAOS deck is not CHAOS enough, & should be more Library Manipulation as the overall theme? Is my Omnath Anti-Conformity from deck worth it, or not? Is Sevinne's approach to Flashback, Mass Burn Wrath, & protection not good enough? If so, why? & what would you build Rona, Disciple of Gix around as a CMDR?
This is important as I just wanted not just advice, but also constructive criticism.
Please respond soon, guys.
2 years ago
Please link all cards in your question using double brackets so that people know what cards do.
Rona, Disciple of Gix has what are known as "linked abilities". The cards you are allowed to play via the second ability are only the cards exiled by the first. You will not be able to cast cards that you exiled via The Mimeoplasm 's ability to your Rona copy's second ability.
607.1. An object may have two abilities printed on it such that one of them causes actions to be taken or objects or players to be affected and the other one directly refers to those actions, objects, or players. If so, these two abilities are linked: the second refers only to actions that were taken or objects or players that were affected by the first, and not by any other ability.