Narset Transcendent

Combos Browse all Suggest

Tokens

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Historic Brawl Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Narset Transcendent

Planeswalker — Narset

+1: Look at the top card of your library. If it's a noncreature, nonland card, you may reveal it and put it into your hand.

-2: When you cast your next instant or sorcery spell from your hand this turn, it gains rebound.

-9: You get an emblem with "Your opponents can't cast noncreature spells."

wallisface on Interaction between Narset Transcendent and …

1 year ago

On gatherer, Narset Transcendents rulings note that if a spell exiles itself as part of its resolution, then ”the ability that lets you cast the spell again won't be created. The spell will simply be exiled.”.

So from that it reads that she can’t rebound Adventures.

Additionally, you have to cast an adventure spell to be able to cast the creature-side from exile - you can’t just cast the creature side if the card has been exiled in any other way (Narset won’t interfere with that interaction).

CamraMaan on None

1 year ago

Sorry, another one! Don't hate me! :)

Will an Adventure spell get exiled as normal per the Adventure mechanic, or will/can Narset Transcendent exile it and rebound it? If it can be rebounded, it will be exiled... can I still cast the permanent portion of the Adventure card from this exiling, or does it have to be exiled from an Adventure to be able to be cast from exile? (This one is my assumption.)

Thanks in advance!

CamraMaan on Interaction between Narset Transcendent and …

1 year ago

Sorry, another one! Don't hate me! :)

Will an Adventure spell get exiled as normal per the Adventure mechanic, or will/can Narset Transcendent exile it and rebound it? If it can be rebounded, it will be exiled... can I still cast the permanent portion of the Adventure card from this exiling, or does it have to be exiled from an Adventure to be able to be cast from exile? (This one is my assumption.)

Thanks in advance!

Icbrgr on Lore of the Dragonlords

1 year ago

Also love the Dragonlords.... Dragonlord Ojutai is my favorite! *by the way did you ever notice the "decoration" around Dragonlord Silumgars neck? lol i love it!) nobody liked Tasigur, the Golden Fang anyway :p

If memory serves me right there was a gathering of the kahns at a mountaintop and there is a moment here/there which determined the future of the plane of Tarkir.... led by dragons or led by the humans.... In the future where dragons rule i believe it was Ojutai who tipped the scales in the dragons favor and the "fall of the humans"... granted it comes off as a bad thing but overall was the better future for the plane.

Dragonlord timeline Ojutai is connected to Narset Transcendent having her spark ignite by the discovery of Ojutai's role in the alternate timeline of Tarkir.

Kahns timeline Narset, Enlightened Master was leader of the Jeskai clan.... I believe there was some sort of major battle and due to timeline/magic/distraction she was felled in combat by Zurgo Helmsmasher.

and that pretty much everything i remember storywise regarding Tarkir/Ojuatai/Silumgar

Icbrgr on

2 years ago

Hey thanks Niko9! I agree completely about Settle the Wreckage; feels so good when it does work though! Narset is one of my favorite walkers too! Originally i was running Narset Transcendent but I just could not believe how many times the +1 would miss/reveal a land; and the -2 was just too slow/only felt relevant with Time Warp or something similar... decided to try out Narset of the Ancient Way... she is an interesting walker; i really like the lifegain so much paired with my fetch/shock lands and the looting effect really really goes well with Snapcaster Mage!

NV_1980 on Chromium Control

2 years ago

Hi,

Can you post the infinite turn combo's you've included. So far I've only spotted one (Venser, the Sojourner + Time Warp/Temporal Manipulation + Archaeomancer). Then there's Narset Transcendent who can put rebound on the time spells, but that's not really infinite so please let me know what I am missing here.

With kind regards,

NV_1980

DemonDragonJ on Should I Put the New …

2 years ago

The new Teferi, Who Slows the Sunset is very awesome, and I am contemplating putting him into my Atraxa, Praetors' Voice EDH deck, but, if I do that, I have not decided what card to remove to make room for him. If I do remove a card I definitely shall exchange an existing planeswalker for him, but I need to decide which planeswalker I shall remove.

My first choice is Dovin Baan, because he is rather lackluster and has the same mana cost as the new Teferi, but I like his emblem very much, and, with sufficient sources of proliferation, I can use his second ability indefinitely, even gaining loyalty each time.

My second choice is Narset Transcendent, because, while her emblem is very powerful (and is the entire reason for her being in the deck), it has a very high loyalty cost, and her other two abilities are not particularly useful; actually, that is not true, as her first ability is great, but this deck does not have a sufficient number of instant and sorcery spells to justify using her second ability very often. Plus, the moment that I cast her shall make me an enemy to the entire game, since very few players will want to allow me to get that emblem.

What does everyone else here say about this? Should I put the new Teferi into my Atraxa deck, and, if I should, which planeswalker should I remove in exchange for him?

Load more