|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Future Sight (FUT)||Uncommon|
Combos Browse all
- Nacatl War-Pride/Breath of Fury
- How does blocking as a band interact with creatures that have specific blocking requirements?
- Mirri, Weatherlight Duelist - blocking replacement effect?
- Does card:Ghostly Prison's ability require my opponent to pay 2 mana for every attacking token card:Nacatl War-Pride produces?
Creature — Cat Warrior
Nacatl War-Pride must be blocked by exactly one creature if able.
Whenever Nacatl War-Pride attacks, put X tokens that are copies of Nacatl War-Pride onto the battlefield tapped and attacking, where X is the number of creatures defending player controls. Exile the tokens at the beginning of the next end step.
Nacatl War-Pride Discussion
20 hours ago
There are some really cool things going on here! You might like these: Heliod's Pilgrim , Nacatl War-Pride , Fireshrieker , Inquisitor's Flail , Shield of the Oversoul , Masako the Humorless , Godsend , Sram, Senior Edificer , Wild Growth (can get Mirri out on turn 2!), Snake Umbra , Battle Mastery , Duelist's Heritage , Pollenbright Wings , One with Nature , Glare of Subdual
1 day ago
Nacatl War-Pride is perfect in Maraisi decks. I've given my opponents like 6 elves with Sylvan Offering then attacked a different opponent with the extra 3/3's. It's busted. And Nacatl War-Pride is best friends with Mirri, Weatherlight Duelist
4 days ago
Gidgetimer If it interests you to know, I actually have a way of stopping my friend's Nacatl War-Pride . I didn't realise until this morning that I'd been able to do it since the start of me and him playing. The Ghostly Prison still messes with a lot of his plans so it isn't wasted in my deck.
5 days ago
Your opponent only needs to pay for the original Nacatl War-Pride . Determining and paying costs is part of the turn based action of declaring attackers. The second ability of Nacatl War-Pride is a triggered ability that goes on the stack after attackers are declared.
508 is the comprehensive rule on the declare attackers step. I will post just the relevant sections, but if you want context you can read the entire rule. The context changes nothing but may help you understand the exact flow and the why behind your opponent not having to pay for the copies.
508.1. First, the active player declares attackers. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. To declare attackers, the active player follows the steps below, in order. If at any point during the declaration of attackers, the active player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the declaration is illegal; the game returns to the moment before the declaration (see rule 722, “Handling Illegal Actions”).
508.1h If any of the chosen creatures require paying costs to attack, or if any optional costs to attack were chosen, the active player determines the total cost to attack. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. Once the total cost is determined, it becomes “locked in.” If effects would change the total cost after this time, ignore this change.
508.2. Second, the active player gets priority. (See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.”)
508.2b Any abilities that triggered on attackers being declared or that triggered during the process described in rules 508.1 are put onto the stack before the active player gets priority; the order in which they triggered doesn’t matter. (See rule 603, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”)
5 days ago
The ability produces the tokens but they are put on the battlefield tapped and attacking. Does that mean they are not subject to the rule as they are put out attacking as an ability? Or do they still count as they are creature that are attacking me?
Asking as I'm going to be running Ghostly Prison very soon and my friend, that I frequently play with, has a Nacatl War-Pride in his deck. I'm really hoping that this unintentional find may actually be a way to survive Nacatl War-Pride as it's one of his favourite win-cons in the deck.
3 weeks ago
These might interest you: Invasion Plans , Genesis Chamber , Varchild's War-Riders , Coat of Arms , Nacatl War-Pride , Soltari Champion , Soltari Visionary , Duelist's Heritage , Avatar of Slaughter , Mercy Killing , Righteous Fury , Sunblast Angel , Curse of Predation , Curse of Stalked Prey , Sheltering Ancient
1 month ago
gorsloth1 I wanted to make sure before I responded to your idea but mirror gallery actually has very little use here. If I have Altered Ego copy volrath then gallery is needed to keep both. However if Volrath is a copy of Storm Crow and then I play altered ego copying the storm crow (volrath) the altered ego will not revert to being volrath because it never was volrath. It will still have his activated ability and be a 7/5. The same applies with the Nacatl War-Pride tokens. Check here for what might be a better explanation
1 month ago
I think Necropolis Regent would be fun.
I think Nacatl War-Pride would be a cool one too
And of course Gray Merchant of Asphodel
Nacatl War-Pride occurrence in decks from the last year
Commander / EDH:
All decks: 0.0%