Combos Browse all Suggest
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
|Commander: Rule 0||Legal|
Creature — Serpent
, Sacrifice an Island: Lochmere Serpent can't be blocked this turn.
, Sacrifice a Swamp: You gain 1 life and draw a card.
: Exile five target cards from an opponent's graveyard. Return Lochmere Serpent from your graveyard to your hand. Activate this ability only at any time you could cast a sorcery.
8 months ago
I have a Quest for Ula's Temple deck which does some similar things, I liked Dreamscape Artist because it can reshuffle your library as needed, incase you don't have a relevant creature to work with on top. It's technically only 1 mana and a card to Harrow (you get back 2 untapped lands, so it can also helping mana fixing) Blue, and I could be wrong but I think your Commander wants the odd Discard outlet too. A worse (but still potentially useful) piece of Blue ramp is Apprentice Wizard, it's not as good as Dreamscape, it's like Worn Powerstone, which is a good rock if you want bigger ramp to potentially cast a big creature a bit sooner. Thran Dynamo and Gilded Lotus are big ramp rocks with decent ratios. Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth and Cabal Coffers are pretty good together, if you have a lot of devotion to a colour Nykthos, Shrine to Nyx can help, Deserted Temple can untap any land that makes extra mana. Less rampy and more of a big Scry effect, Soothsaying is a neat card if you care about your deck order. Scroll Rack is better but costs more.
Just a general idea, you might throw in things like Reconnaissance Mission, Bident of Thassa, and Coastal Piracy along with some Unblockable or Shadow creatures (Thalakos and Dauthi are the Blue and Black tribes). You can also throw in stuff like Sword of the Animist, Dowsing Dagger Flip, Prying Blade, Goldvein Pick, Grim Hireling, and any other attack payoffs you can find to generate more value over time. I understand you want a sea-monster theme, but you might want a way to draw some cards/get in some chip damage to soften people up. The only drawback to Shadows is that they can't chump block. If you really want your evasive creatures to be able to chump, there are some small flyers like Spectral Sailor and Thousand-Faced Shadow that have other upsides, these are risk free but are way less evasive than Shadows.
On that note, if you're worried about getting attacked you might look at Propaganda, War Tax, Flood, and Fatespinner are all great ways to make you hard to attack. Mass Diminish, Polymorphist's Jest, Sudden Spoiling, AEtherize, Aetherspouts are all great cards for people to fear.
Callous Oppressor is a funny repeatable theft effect, Ritual of the Machine and Helm of Possession can both steal stuff and are great with tokens, Thieving Skydiver can steal an artifact creature fwiw, Sower of Temptation is a so-so theft effect that shines bright if you can flicker or bounce it, Thalakos Deceiver is probably way better since he permanently steals whatever and can be reanimated, Inevitable Betrayal and Bribery are both pretty sweet.
Inkwell Leviathan, Lochmere Serpent, Spawning Kraken, Stormtide Leviathan, and Wrexial, the Risen Deep are some relevant creatures I use, some are better than others but there is nothing as bad as Sea Serpent or Bog Serpent, both cards I love but don't use.
If you like Whelming Wave, you might like Spectral Deluge as well.
Hope some of this helps, Big Dimir is a fun deck!
1 year ago
No. Something only counts as a creature (artifact, enchantment, planeswalker, permanent, etc) when it's on the battlefield. In other zones, it's a creature card, but not a creature. Some cards like Kuldotha Phoenix and Lochmere Serpent have abilities that activate from the graveyard, but that doesn't make those abilities into creature abilities.
2 years ago
Just to leave that 100% clear: Yes. He has to be on the battlefield to trigger.
For some counterexamples, see Bridge from Below, as well as Lochmere Serpent's final ability, which work in the graveyard rather than the battlefield. Both of Bridge From Below's abilities function "if Bridge from Below is in your graveyard," and Lochmere Serpent's ability explicitly moves it from the graveyard, so it has to be there already to use the ability.
2 years ago
Where is Gyruda, Doom of Depths ? Considering the mill subtheme, this looks like a must have.
I would also want to have a reason to play my almost eight copies of Lorthos, the Tidemaker but damn he doesn't fit anywhere except koma decks maybe. Why does his ability cost so much :(
2 years ago
I like the prison/mill strategy. It really makes me miss my old Varina deck. Have you considered Shepherd of Rot or Lochmere Serpent ? I found them to be excellent includes in my previous build. The Shepherd can suddenly blow out opponents if your steadily increasing zombie hoard can't get through plus he sees your opponents' zombies and Varina's life-gain keeps your life total at reasonable levels. The Serpent is excellent discard fodder that you can recur for good effects.
2 years ago
There's a distinction you have to understand between an enchantment and an enchantment card. It might also be helpful to refer to the Oracle text here, since it's been updated quite a bit from the wordy and hard-to-follow original:
You may have Copy Artifact enter the battlefield as a copy of any artifact on the battlefield, except it’s an enchantment in addition to its other types.
Copy Artifact is an enchantment card except when it's in play. In play, it's an enchantment artifact (might have other types) if it's copying something, or just an enchantment if for some reason you played it but decided not to copy anything.
While it's copying something, it has the attributes of the artifact, plus the enchantment type from its ability. If it's ever not on the battlefield, the ability that makes it a copy of an artifact is no longer in effect and it's a blue enchantment card named Copy Artifact (this also applies to other zones like exile, yes).
With only a few exceptions, abilities do not work outside the battlefield. The main exception is if they specifically talk about the card being in a different zone. For example, Lochmere Serpent 's last ability lets you pay to return itself from your graveyard to your hand. Since this ability moves the card from the graveyard, it works in the graveyard instead of on the battlefield.