Insult

Insult

Sorcery

Damage can't be prevented this turn. If a source you control would deal damage this turn, it deals double that damage instead.

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Trade

Have (0)
Want (1) Echomaster

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Amonkhet (AKH) Rare

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Duel Commander Legal
Custom Legal
Historic Legal
Block Constructed Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Arena Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Unformat Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Leviathan Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Casual Legal
Limited Legal
Pioneer Legal
Modern Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Legacy Legal
Oathbreaker Legal

Insult occurrence in decks from the last year

Latest Decks as Commander

Insult Discussion

PhotogenicParasympathetic on What was your favorite play …

5 months ago

The Simic player popped off, spitting out loads of creatures with loads of +1/+1 counters, and swung out at me. I took 38 square on the jaw, dropped to 2. All I had in play was a Repercussion and a Glorybringer.

On my turn, I cast Insult, then a Dualcaster Mage on the Insult, then attacked with my Glorybringer and exerted. Glorybringer dealt 4 to one of the Simic player's creatures, which doubles to 8 then doubles to 16 - then Repercussion triggered, and shot the player for 16, which doubled to 32, which doubled to 64.

And that's how I killed someone from 40 with Glorybringer's attack trigger, while also 16'ing another player with the Glorybringer itself.

Let's just say my commander, Neheb, the Eternal, lived up to his flavor text.

This is what glory looks like.

NoetiPanda on Walking Nightmare (Zurgo Helmsmasher)

6 months ago

I suggest, if you want a cheap and quick way to finish off players, try Insult. That double uninterruptible damage + burn afterward is a great addition.

Bobs_Army on How to Train Your Dragon

1 year ago

Dictate of the Twin Gods is Insult and its other side injury is pretty good too. But the important thing is that it is only your sources.

Kogarashi on insult + trample

1 year ago

Yes, Insult will double all the damage from a creature with trample. However damage must be assigned from the unmodified amount first, and then doubled when dealt.

Let's say you're attacking with a 4/4 with trample, and you cast Insult during your first main phase.

If your opponent blocks with a 0/4 creature, when you assign combat damage you must assign all four to the blocker (assigning lethal) and there will be none leftover to assign to your opponent. Then damage will be doubled, dealing 8 to the blocker and 0 to your opponent.

However, if your opponent blocks with a 2/2, then you assign 2 damage to the blocker (lethal) and 2 to the opponent. When the damage is dealt it will be doubled, dealing 4 to the blocker and 4 to your opponent.

From the Gatherer rulings:

  • If a creature with trample you control would deal combat damage to a blocking creature this turn, you must assign its unmodified damage. For example, a 3/3 creature with trample blocked by a 2/2 creature can only have 1 damage assigned to the defending player. It will then deal 4 damage to the blocking creature and 2 to the defending player. (2017-04-18)
Load more