Dirge Bat

Dirge Bat

Creature — Bat

Mutate (If you cast this spell for its mutate cost, put it ontop or underneath target non-Human creature you own. They mutate into the creature that is on top and that creature has all the abilities of every card that is underneath it.)

Flash

Flying

Whenever this creature mutates, destroy target creature or planeswalker an opponent controls.

Latest Decks as Commander

Dirge Bat Discussion

eEsnowalkerEe on Trench Coat Surprise

4 months ago

Hey Dude, I'm a Fellow Flash Fanatic as well!!!! Ikoria was AN ABSOLUTE GAME CHANGER for Flash in Standard!

Dirge Bat with Sea-Dasher Octopus May be GOOD, but have you tried Sea-DashO with Faerie Vandal ?!? IT IS ABSURD!!! Lemme tell ya, A 2/2 Flyer whom gets a +1/+1 Counter on it after Each Swing, IS FKN DANGEROUS!

Check out my deck UB FLASH! If your interested, I strictly play only this deck and IMO its pretty Fine Tuned. Needless to say, I have put in Lotsa tweakage and am confident in this build. Try it out If you want to consistently Draw Cards and Flash ALOTTA SHIT, FTW. Just stay away from playgrounds with it..... LOL

Dracknid10 on Brokkos, Apex of Forever (JankLord UwU v2)

8 months ago

best tip is probably to use green to ramp your mana, green is great with ramp so cards like Rampant Growth Cultivate and Kodama's Reach are great for that Sol Ring is a great card for any deck as well, ramps important if your commander is expensive.

a mutate theme is very strong, and a resurrection theme is strong too definitely add some more mutate stuff tho something like Dirge Bat might be a good addition

if moneys an issue you could always get the preconstructed deck 'enhanced evolution' heres a link to an unboxing if you wanna check it out might be some good inspiration in there

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ui-rD08U05M&t=295s&ab_channel=MTGUnpacked

defamagraphy1 on An Invitation to Help Magic

1 year ago

Determining just how broken a card is depends on how well it can be interacted with. Omanth is very easy to interact with. However I do believe Genesis Ultimatum or Escape to the Wilds should have seen the axe

The other problem is that so many players are playing it just to win.

I think the bigger problem is that it forces a player to interact with it so early which throws off an opponents game plan, that and players don't want to put more removal in their decks.

Bloodchief's Thirst, Giant Killer, Mutual Destruction, Feed the Swarm Heartless Act Legion's Judgment Murderous Rider Mythos of Nethroi Dirge Bat Hagra Mauling  Flip Drag to the Underworld Smite the Monstrous Triumphant Surge Angelic Ascension Dire Tactics Epic Downfall Necromentia Deny the Divine Eat to Extinction Banishing Light Skyclave Apparition Redcap Melee Thundering Rebuke Charge of the Forever-Beast Flame Spill Soul Sear Channeled Force Mythos of Vadrok Rumbling Rockslide The Akroan War Concerted Defense Anticognition Essence Scatter Jwari Disruption  Flip Lofty Denial Cancel Convolute Deny the Divine Didn't Say Please Mystical Dispute Mystical Dispute Memory Drain Rewind Agonizing Remorse Memory Theft Pelakka Predation  Flip Shatter the Sky Storm's Wrath Extinction Event

That's a whole lot of cards that can deal with Omnath decks. So its not so broken that it can't be dealt with. Does it mean you have to add more than 4 removal cards or change colors? You might have to. Does it mean you might have to change some strategy? Possibly.

Mono White has at least 12 solid answer cards for Omnath and you can still play aggro. Blue has counterspells though you might have to pair it with another color. Red has a few options as well, and the only color that is lacking is if you play mono green. With that many cards you really can't say it's so broken it's unbeatable. You have to play around it. You have to anticipate the strategy. These cards can easily be maindecked, and if youre a player that goes 38 creatures and only 22 lands then I'm sorry for you.

But I wholey disagree with the term Broken. Ive often seen Omnath players quit when they lose Cobra and Omnath. I've also seen a lot of them pass the turn and pass several turns. If you cannot answer it, its out of lack of trying, preparedness, or just a bad game which happens. Also, its not Omnath doing broken things. Omnath only produces the mana to do really really good things. IF Wizards bans Escape and Ultimatum players will have to switch to Lithoforming and while it won't kill the deck it will slow it down and I think that's a more fair approach. But yeah... as above, you don't have to limit yourself to just what's being played. Think outside the box.

Snake_Oil on Going about building a RE …

1 year ago

Black also has a lot of disease/plague effects, so along with Zombies you're solid.

Adding Blue opens you up to Laboratory style cards like Arcane Laboratory, Laboratory Maniac and Laboratory Brute.

Blue/Black gives you a few good commander options too, the best to my mind being Gisa and Geralf -- You can cast a zombie from the grave each of your turns and you could say they're like The Ashford Twins (minus the weirdness and plus the good-natured antagonism). Grimgrin, Corpse-Born is also a good card just in the deck, a big Tyrant style zombie albeit with a setback.

You could add mutate creatures in like Dirge Bat and Insatiable Hemophage but it's a really shallow pool and mechanic, you're better off focusing on zombie synergies.

But, for some real fun, look to equipment with Living Weapon like Batterskull, Lashwrithe, Scytheclaw and Skinwing -- Equipments that have that bioweapon vibe on top of creating germ tokens to act as your T/G Virus!

Hope this gives you some ideas!

Gidgetimer on Lithoform Engine Rulings?

1 year ago

When you copy the Gemrazer (I assume? There is no "Gemsmasher".) the copy copies the choices made when casting it, so the fact that it was a mutate spell and the targets. The copy effect does not allow you to change targets.

Assuming everything resolves with no further interaction you will first mutate a token Gemrazer onto the Dirge Bat and you will destroy an artifact or enchantment and a creature. Then you will mutate on the normal Gemrazer and destroy two artifacts/enchantments and one creature.

You can put each morph over or under the creature it is morphing onto, so you will end up with either a Dirge Bat a token Gemrazer, or a non-token Gemrazer. Whichever the creature ends up actually being will have the abilities of the other two.

defamagraphy1 on Lithoform Enginge: Not Broken, Definitely …

1 year ago

Gidgetimer Exactly your last scenario...just not with Dirge Bat. There are other reasons to make the token for

But if you'd like to re-read my above comments, I had agreed with you. It was merely a quip to a "possibility" I didn't say it was viable. I believe I included the word Cringe in my comment.

I do not understand why the tapped out community feels such a need to argue with one another over to who is right or wrong and this seems to be a thing that repeatedly occurs with people even in such a manner a picking apart words.

I wanted to address this issue, but I felt the need to wait to see if you responded.

I would like to think tappedout is a resource to help people build their decks, come up with new ideas and even better their strategies/builds/and even playing, but the way these suggestions are made... smh.

Gidgetimer on Lithoform Enginge: Not Broken, Definitely …

1 year ago

defamagraphy1 please re-read my earlier comments. I am not saying that the copy will get destroyed and not enter. Maybe an example would help. To keep this simple let's just use a single card instead of an already merged permanent for the base creature. We are assuming that no one would like to take any actions beyond what is specified just to not add priority passes.

  1. You cast Dirge Bat for its mutate cost targeting Charging Badger.

  2. You activate Lithoform Engine to copy the Dirge Bat spell.

  3. Since the original spell had it's mutate cost paid and is targeting Charging Badger, the copy is a mutate spell targeting Charging Badger. Nothing allows you to rechoose any choices made when casting or reselect targets, so you can't make it not a mutate or mutate it onto another creature.

  4. The copy resolves and you can put it over or under the Charging Badger. We are going to put it on top. So you now have a 3/3 token Dirge Bat with flying, flash, trample, and "Whenever this creature mutates, destroy target creature or planeswalker an opponent controls." that just mutated.

  5. The kill ability goes on the stack. No one responds and the target is killed.

  6. The original Dirge Bat resolves and since the merged permanent is considered by the game to be the same one it was previously targeting it mutates on and we can put it over or under the token Dirge Bat. We are again going to put the new creature on top. We now have a 3/3 non-token Dirge Bat with 2 instances of flash, 2 instances of flying, trample, and 2 instances of "Whenever this creature mutates, destroy target creature or planeswalker an opponent controls." that just mutated.

  7. The 2 kill abilities go on the stack. No one responds to either and the targets are killed.

  8. You cast Unsummon targeting the Dirge Bat/Dirge Bat/Charging Badger merged permanent.

  9. One creature leaves the battlefield and 2 creature cards and a creature token enter your hand. The next time SBA are checked the token ceases to exist.

If instead you had cast Unsummon at step 4 what would happen is:

  1. You cast Dirge Bat for its mutate cost targeting Charging Badger.

  2. You activate Lithoform Engine to copy the Dirge Bat spell.

  3. Since the original spell had it's mutate cost paid and is targeting Charging Badger, the copy is a mutate spell targeting Charging Badger. Nothing allows you to rechoose any choices made when casting or reselect targets, so you can't make it not a mutate or mutate it onto another creature.

  4. You cast unsummon targeting Charging Badger

  5. The Charging Badger is returned to your hand.

  6. The copy resolves with no target and you get a token Dirge Bat.

  7. The original resolves with no target and you get a Dirge Bat

Gidgetimer on Lithoform Enginge: Not Broken, Definitely …

1 year ago

defamagraphy1: Is there an interaction I am missing, or a ruling on this card that I haven't seen?

Lithoform Engine makes a copy of the permanent spell and that copy becomes a token. It does not copy the permanent that the spell becomes. Copying a spell copies all choices made for the spell and nothing is letting you change any of those choices. This means that if you cast Dirge Bat for mutate targeting a merged permanent (a "mutate pile") and use Lithoform Engine on it you will get a second Dirge Bat who's mutate cost was paid targeting the same merged permanent. If you bounce the pile it will destroy the token copy.

Load more