Scud422 Deckling

Please login to comment

This does make me wonder though, is it mathematically possible to come up with a scenario where a copied "Y damage divided as you choose" couldn't kill Y*2 toughness worth of creatures?

May 12, 2018 6:51 p.m.

Thank you both for helping me understand this. To try to help anyone else who came upon this thread here's further clarification and an example. Let's say your opponent has an 0/1, a 1/1, a 3/3, a 4/4, and a 5/5, and you have a spell that says "this deals 7 damage divided as you choose among any number of targets." and a way to copy that spell. If you have the first spell do 4 damage to the 4/4 and 3 damage to the 3/3, then your copy would also have to do 4 and 3 damage because you've essentially changed the text of the spell to read "this does 4 damage to any target and 3 damage to a second target." So if you want to kill all of your opponents creatures, you'll have to do some hard math to figure out how to split the damage. You would have to split the damage of both spells to do 1, 1, 2, and 3 damage; the first spell would do 1 to the 0/1, 1 to the 3/3, 3 to the 4/4, and 2 to the 5/5 then the other spell would have to do 1 to the 1/1, 2 to the 3/3, 1 to the 4/4, and finally 3 to the 5/5. That seems like a lot of hoops to jump through for the same result, right? Well, unfortunately you have to make all these decisions before passing priority to your opponent so if your opp counters the copy, all you've killed is the 0/1.

May 12, 2018 6:43 p.m.

If you copy a spell that says "this does X damage divided as you choose among any number of targets" with an effect that says "you may choose new targets for the copy," can you have a different number of targets with the copy? I assumed that if you copied something like Arc Lightning or Conflagrate (with x=3) you could do something along the lines of: 1 damage to 1 creature and 2 damage to another with the original and 3 damage to your opponent with the copy. But I was looking over the rulings for The Mirari Conjecture and saw this confusing paragraph: "If the spell has damage divided as it was cast (like Fight with Fire does when kicked), the division cant be changed (although the targets receiving that damage still can)."I've never seen anything like this in the rulings for other copy effects and couldn't find anything along those lines in the comprehensive rules.

May 12, 2018 5:03 a.m.

Friends

alphabetsuplex

Followers

alphabetsuplex

Decks

Vampire Madness!

Standard Scud422

SCORE: 1 | 114 VIEWS

Pauper Slivers

Pauper Scud422

SCORE: 1 | 1 COMMENT | 413 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Pauper Boggles

Pauper Scud422

92 VIEWS

Draw all the cards!

Commander / EDH Scud422

SCORE: 3 | 1 COMMENT | 367 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Belch 'em out

Vintage* Scud422

SCORE: 2 | 127 VIEWS

Budget Naya Zoo

Modern Scud422

SCORE: 1 | 82 VIEWS

Idiocy Pool

Commander / EDH Scud422

SCORE: 1 | 1 COMMENT | 460 VIEWS

Finished Decks 38
Prototype Decks 19
Drafts 0
Avg. deck rating 2.50
T/O Rank 3380
Helper Rank None yet
Good Card Suggestions 3
Last activity 1 week
Joined 5 years