Please login to comment
@ Epochalyptik I suggest brushing up on mechanics like Heroic that make a distinction between targeting and the successful resolution of a spell. Even if the spell you cast is countered, mechanics that rely on being targeted like heroic are still triggered. Acts of "targeting" are irrespective of whether or not the spell resolves. This card would be the same, the only difference is whether or not you top stack that effect with another zone changing ability or spell, which I believe OP said it has. So it still ultimately goes to graveyard and the exile mechanic fizzles because there's no longer a valid target in play.
Same result, different reason.
March 22, 2017 7:52 p.m.
Uh huh, sure Neotrup. So, care to explain how or why "put into a graveyard from the battlefield" and "put into a graveyard from the battlefield" are different? In fact, can you guess which of those two I just mentioned belongs to Lazav and which belongs to Titania?
March 22, 2017 1:47 a.m.
Yeah, this is the same case as Lazav. A more logical way of thinking of cards like Titania, Protector of Argoth or Lazav, Dimir Mastermind is they are always asking the question non stop: "Is this card in the graveyard?" And the answer is usually "no". When the card enters the graveyard and comes to rest, the answer becomes "yes" and their ability will analyze if it is a land or a creature and then trigger or not trigger accordingly.
And in the case of Darksteel Mutation + Manland, yes Titania will trigger because Fumarole when it sits in the graveyard is a land not a creature.
It's a very confusing mechanic and it took me a long while to get my head around it too.
March 22, 2017 12:54 a.m.
There have been times since the masterpiece sets came out that I've wanted to specify I'm using the older versions of the card, not the masterpiece version. Is there a way in your decklist to have the site specify which version you're using?
March 21, 2017 11:49 p.m.
The important word in Eternal Scourge's rules says "target". This is one of those unique words in MTG that operate under most circumstances in the same way the Theros "Heroic" theme does. It's the act of merely attempting to target with a cast, not a successful cast that will trigger Eternal Scourge's self exile ability regardless of what response you attempt to make.
We'll need further clarification but I believe Scourge will still exile.
March 21, 2017 11:28 p.m.
This might shed a bit more light on it for you than I can put into words ( from a former L2 judge: )
TL;DR: Other cards that look at the card at the time of death however, would affect the land. Lazav is a special case with a slightly different mechanic.
March 21, 2017 11:06 p.m.
Oh and I forgot to cover your last question there, for the purpose of cards like Zulaport Cutthroat, it will still trigger the cutthroat because the land/creature dies, and that's what he's looking for, the death, not whether he enters the graveyard.
March 21, 2017 10:40 p.m.
It dies as a creature, but enters the graveyard as a land. in Lazav's case, Lazav is looking for creatures that enter the graveyard. Cases like Lazav is why there is a distinction between "die" and "enter the graveyard".
March 21, 2017 10:26 p.m.
In cases like this where an artifact, enchantment or land have the ability to become a creature, they are not creatures when they hit the graveyard, in the same way that a token doesn't actually enter the graveyard when it dies.
As such, Lazav can't copy Lumbering Falls.
March 21, 2017 10:20 p.m.
Yes, Dark Depths would become a nonbasic Mountain. From gatherer's ruling on Blood Moon:
If a nonbasic land has an ability that triggers when it enters the battlefield, it will lose that ability before it triggers.
As such, if Blood Moon is on the field already when you play Dark Depths, it will not have any counters on it and it will not have any special abilities, it will just be a Legendary Snow Land - Mountain that taps for 1 red mana.
If Blood Moon is removed before Dark Depths is, DD's last ability will instantly trigger on resolve of Blood Moon's removal.
March 21, 2017 9:21 p.m.
No, unfortunately you can't.
The only time that would change is if that land was enchanted with an enchantment or an effect that specifically said in it's wording "this land is a non-basic land, in addition to it's other types". However that will still not apply to any extra basics of the same type still not in play, as they're still unaffected basic lands.
March 21, 2017 9:09 p.m.
Indeed, I thought that might be the case and I just wanted to make sure. I was specifically hoping to abuse Archangel of Thune with this. ;)
Thanks for that!
March 20, 2017 11:52 p.m.
With the card Patron of the Kitsune, the second ability reads "Whenever a creature attacks, you may gain 1 life."
Does this ability trigger separately for each individual attacking creature on the board? ( 3 attacking creatures, 3 separate ability triggers of +1 life ), or does it see 3 attacking creatures and add 1 trigger of +3 life?
March 20, 2017 10:57 p.m.
Since you're running a mono-coloured deck that's designed to have a lot of permanents on the field, Nykthos, Shrine to Nyx may be a land card to consider. For creatures, Archangel of Thune may also be of use to you.
Either way, your deck gives me plenty of ideas for a deck I'd like to make. :)
March 19, 2017 9:01 p.m.
Firstly, welcome to the realm of EDH!
I will mention that unlike more mainstream versions of Magic ( Standard, Modern, Legacy, etc ) Commander tends to be a more social format. As such I would caution against going too hard into hand/land destruction ( some is fine ). Just be aware of the playgroups you play with. If they seem hesitant to play with you if you use this deck, you may wish to shelve it or tone it down.
Now, for what's important, card suggestions! Here's a few that may or may not help your red/black Gobbie tribal theme: Boggart Shenanigans to help squeeze that extra damage out of your Goblins on death. That pairs well with your skullclamp and also with Ashnod's Altar if you need extra mana.
Gauntlet of Power may also assist you in powering up your Goblins and boosting your manabase. For the ultimate manabase cheese, you can't go past Mana Echoes. As a backup or if you're facing opponents with fearsome board states, I would also suggest giving some consideration to sideboarding Blasphemous Act ( works wonders in a goblin deck ) and Vandalblast.
March 15, 2017 11 p.m.
Thanks for that. Originally I was going to dismiss the card until I read the additional text. I can see how this could potentially be really useful against counter and boardclear heavy decks as well. I will be keeping this card in mind. :)
March 15, 2017 8:55 p.m.
FYI, if Primal Surge is the only non permanent, this is not a win-con, it's a lose-con.
You will repeat the process until you deck yourself out and then lose. You need at least 1 other non-permanent ( I'd suggest 2 as a safety backup ). This way it will prevent you from killing yourself.
March 14, 2017 11:42 p.m.
If you play free for all multiplayer, Assault Suit always goes down well. It lets your opponents kill each other with your commander ( but not you ). Speeds the game up nicely and your commander damage stacks regardless of who's currently using it.
March 14, 2017 10:44 p.m.
Commander / EDH
SCORE: 9 | 33 COMMENTS | 3515 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS
Commander / EDH*
SCORE: 5 | 27 COMMENTS | 1507 VIEWS | IN 3 FOLDERS
Commander / EDH
SCORE: 1 | 6 COMMENTS | 287 VIEWS
Commander / EDH
SCORE: 4 | 10 COMMENTS | 711 VIEWS
Commander / EDH
SCORE: 3 | 2 COMMENTS | 225 VIEWS
Commander / EDH
10 COMMENTS | 468 VIEWS
Commander / EDH
7 COMMENTS | 247 VIEWS
|Playing since||Magic 2014|
|Avg. deck rating||27.00|
|Helper Rank||None yet|
|Favorite formats||Standard, Legacy|
|Good Card Suggestions||11|
|Last activity||5 days|