Madcookie Deckling

Please login to comment

Said on Nexus of Fate ......

#1

The only problem that Nexus of fate brings is that it's exclusive buy-a-box only promo, meaning you can't get it from packs ever, which means that trading (if someone is even willing) or ofc the beloved secondary market are your only options to get the card.

June 15, 2018 8:28 p.m.

Said on Ethics Question...

#2
  1. Unless the conversation is "This card costs 100$" ..."Ye I know but I just want 10$" ..."Ok, cool" then anyone participating in a similar trade is a very bad person. Think "taking candy from a baby" bad person and this is coming from someone who's primary magic color is black.

2.But its apparently a troll post since the user just registered so its all cool. As for the majority of the other commentators its cool too, keep swindling new players into trading duals and goyfs for junk rares, I'm sure this practice will entice even more people to join our evergrowing community

June 15, 2018 8:25 p.m.

Ah, my bad I completely misred the card. For some reason I've always thought it said all creatures.

June 12, 2018 12:18 a.m.

@Rhadamanthus however shouldn't his Ranging Raptors die since it already has 2 damage dealt on it from the first strike then its toughness becomes 0/2 before normal damage phase?

June 11, 2018 7:15 p.m.

Said on Are you aloud ......

#5

Yes you can and your life total will not change. It works the same when it comes to permanents with stuff like Obliterate, Armageddon or even Wrath of God.

June 10, 2018 9:49 a.m.

Its mostly for science but still---> Would the following create infinite loop similar to the Phyrexian Metamorph combo.

Sharuum the Hegemon is on the battlefield with Mirage Mirror. The mirror copies her and as state-based action I choose that she goes to the graveyard. Then while the mirror is still a copy of Sharuum I return her say with Argivian Restoration. Now we again have 2 Sharuums and I choose that the original dies as a statebased effect, while her ETB is on the stack but without selected target (since state-based supercedes other triggers) so after she is back in the GY her ability can target herself and just like Baron Munchausen she will pull herself out by the hair again and again to finish opponents off with Blood Artist or something similar.

June 7, 2018 10:03 a.m.

The way things are worded in the rules the 3/1 attacker will assing all 3 points of its damage to the 3 toughness blocker as needed for combat damage, then damage step will resolve, triggering The Flame of Keld and thus making the actual damage dealt to the blocked 5(resulting in 2dmg overkill), however because you didn't assign any damage to the player blocking no damage will be done to them.

From Gatherer on The Flame of Keld 4/27/2018: If multiple replacement effects would modify how damage would be dealt, the player being dealt damage (or the controller of the permanent being dealt damage) chooses the order in which to apply those effects. 4/27/2018: If damage dealt by a source you control is being divided or assigned among multiple permanents an opponent controls or among an opponent and one or more permanents they control simultaneously, divide the original amount before adding 2. For example, if you attack with a 5/5 red creature with trample and your opponent blocks with a 2/2 creature, you can assign 2 damage to the blocker and 3 damage to the defending player. These amounts are then modified to 4 and 5, respectively.

Then on MTG rules 510.1c A blocked creature assigns its combat damage to the creatures blocking it. If no creatures are currently blocking it (if, for example, they were destroyed or removed from combat), it assigns no combat damage. If exactly one creature is blocking it, it assigns all its combat damage to that creature. If two or more creatures are blocking it, it assigns its combat damage to those creatures according to the damage assignment order announced for it. This may allow the blocked creature to divide its combat damage. However, it can’t assign combat damage to a creature that’s blocking it unless, when combat damage assignments are complete, each creature that precedes that blocking creature in its order is assigned lethal damage. When checking for assigned lethal damage, take into account damage already marked on the creature and damage from other creatures that’s being assigned during the same combat damage step, but not any abilities or effects that might change the amount of damage that’s actually dealt. An amount of damage that’s greater than a creature’s lethal damage may be assigned to it.

June 6, 2018 9:40 p.m.

Said on Can a second ......

#8

Unfortunately the whether you cast another Circu, Dimir Lobotomist, he gets flickered or any similar effect that causes him to reenter the battlefield, he will be considered "new object" with no memory of the previous one and you opponents will be free to cast their spells as normal unless you exile them again with the "new Circu".

For his ability to work as we all dreamed of it would have to have been worded very specifically for example Mairsil, the Pretender puts cage counter on exiled the cards and only refers to "cards with cage counters on them" and not "to cards exiled with Mairsil".

June 6, 2018 9:21 a.m.

Zetalpa, Primal Dawn has indestructible so destroy effects (like from deathtouch won't kill it). She also has double strike with does both first strike and normal damage, so even without the indestructible Master of Cruelties wouldn't have survived the encounter.

Indestrictible - 702.12b A permanent with indestructible can’t be destroyed. Such permanents aren’t destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the state-based action that checks for lethal damage (see rule 704.5g).

Deathtouch - 702.2c Any nonzero amount of combat damage assigned to a creature by a source with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage for the purposes of determining if a proposed combat damage assignment is valid, regardless of that creature’s toughness. See rules 510.1c–d.

June 5, 2018 12:50 p.m.

Said on rat colony edh ......

#10

What cdkime said, but just to be thorough

101.1. Whenever a card’s text directly contradicts these rules, the card takes precedence. The card overrides only the rule that applies to that specific situation. The only exception is that a player can concede the game at any time (see rule 104.3a).

June 4, 2018 9:02 p.m.

I meant that technically he does and if you have stuff like Conspiracy or Arcane Adaptation he'd untap them. In a voltron strategy he'd be very fun especially with Hammer of Nazahn

In any other case he's a very bad Aurelia

June 4, 2018 12:09 p.m.

Actually Godo, Bandit Warlord does untap himself and any samurai if you have any.

"Whenever Godo attacks for the first time each turn, *untap it* and all Samurai you control"

June 4, 2018 8:11 a.m.

Said on Helm of the ......

#13

I believe that whenever two triggers with the same owner occur you resolve them in whatever order you choose so you first create the token, then flip the coin and the token gets the bonus.

So basically what Neotrup said.

June 3, 2018 10:04 a.m.

The new token Aurelia is a new object and the name refers to the object it is on eg the token and not the original Aurelia. So yes it will go infinite as at the start of combat you create a new token Aurelia that hasn't attacked yet, attack with her and get new combat phase. Then on the bonus attack phase you create another token Aurelia, which is also a new object that hasn't attacked this turn. Rinse and repeat.

June 3, 2018 9:57 a.m.

Said on Is returning a ......

#15

It is not considered casting. The only object on the stack is the ability/spell/effect that is bringing the creature or creatures to the battlefield. Only that ability/spell etc can be countered for example and not the individual creatures. Wording is very important in magic and if something was cast it would be mentioned on the card. For example flashback cards specifically state cast this from graveyard Artful Dodge and cards like Haakon, Stromgald Scourge can only be cast from the graveyard and it is specified so.

Also casting would require to spend mana, unless specified "without paying its mana cost" as by the mtg rules and Balthor or Living Death or any similar effect don't ask you to pay mana for creatures

601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell includes proposal of the spell (rules 601.2a–d) and determination and payment of costs (rules 601.2f–h). To cast a spell, a player follows the steps listed below, in order. A player must be legally allowed to cast the spell to begin this process (see rule 601.3), ignoring any effect that would prohibit that spell from being cast based on information determined during that spell’s proposal. (Such effects are considered during the check detailed in rule 601.2e.) If, at any point during the casting of a spell, a player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the casting of the spell is illegal; the game returns to the moment before the casting of that spell was proposed (see rule 721, “Handling Illegal Actions”).

June 3, 2018 9:50 a.m.

Since you play Tunnel Vision you can consider combining it with Hinder. Also unless your group is very casual i think you need some graveyard removal. Leyline of the Void is absurdly expensive, so maybe Tormod's Crypt, because there are a lot of big creatures that shuffle graveyards back into libraries and essentially nullify your efforts. For the rest of the deck +1

June 3, 2018 9:37 a.m.

Said on Marchesa EDH...

#17

For more pillow-fort/deterrence you can try Ghostly Prison, Sphere of Safety, Norn's Annex Crawlspace and ofc No Mercy. Also you can consider a bit more draw in the deck from maybe The Immortal Sun since you dont run Planeswalkers, Phyrexian Arena or Staff of Nin for budget replacement.

Cheers!

May 30, 2018 11:14 a.m.

This is what I've found and I think the trigger from Okaun will trigger, then go on the stack, but since Puppet's Verdict is already resolving the creature will die then the trigger will counter itself because of no legal targets.

603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.

603.2a Because they aren’t cast or activated, triggered abilities can trigger even when it isn’t legal to cast spells and activate abilities. Effects that preclude abilities from being activated don’t affect them.

116.2a Triggered abilities can trigger at any time, including while a spell is being cast, an ability is being activated, or a spell or ability is resolving. (See rule 603, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”) However, nothing actually happens at the time an ability triggers. Each time a player would receive priority, each ability that has triggered but hasn’t yet been put on the stack is put on the stack. See rule 116.5. #

May 30, 2018 9:39 a.m.

Said on if I have ......

#19

Support or bolster doesn't matter here what matters is the text of Gleam of Authority which states "gets +1/+1 for each +1/+1 counter on other creatures you control" and NOT "whenever you put a +1/+1 counter on another creature you control put +1/+1 counter on enchanted creature". So in short no you won't get infinite counters and you'll simply end up with 2 Expedition Envoy with 4 power and 3 toughness.

May 30, 2018 9:18 a.m.

Said on None...

#20

For more discard you can put Bottomless Pit and Nezumi Shortfang. As far as mana rocks go I counted 11 and thats a bit much for aggro deck. Charcoal Diamond and Rakdos Cluestone don't seem good enough to warrant a place in the deck. Rogue's Passage is a nice utility land and you can even finish someone off with an unblockable Rakdos. Rix Maadi, Dungeon Palace is a very nice discard land too.

For extra stax Winter Orb, Torpor Orb but they might hurt your deck too.

May 29, 2018 9:37 p.m.

Decks

Circu, Alchemist Extraordinaire

Commander / EDH Madcookie

SCORE: 2 | 165 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Vampiric Crusade

Commander / EDH Madcookie

SCORE: 7 | 2 COMMENTS | 1349 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

Sydri's Janky Combo Galore

Commander / EDH Madcookie

SCORE: 2 | 295 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

Sydri's Paradox

Commander / EDH Madcookie

SCORE: 2 | 629 VIEWS | IN 4 FOLDERS

Improvised Grixis Amulet

Standard Madcookie

SCORE: 3 | 2 COMMENTS | 1179 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Finished Decks 22
Prototype Decks 8
Drafts 0
Playing since Darksteel
Avg. deck rating 3.20
T/O Rank 131
Helper Rank 336
Favorite formats Commander / EDH
Last activity 2 days
Joined 9 months