Yahenni + Yahenni's Expertise

Asked by JoltsOfEnergy 5 months ago

I have this situation in which I'm really not sure how it resolves. Let's say I have Yahenni, Undying Partisan with a +1+1 counter on the field as well as a Midnight Entourage . I cast Yahenni's Expertise. My opponent has 2 creatures on the battlefield with less than 3 toughness which die to Yahenni's Expertise. So will Yahenni's ability give him additional +1+1 counters to save him when my opponent's creatures die or will he become 0/0 after Midnight Entourage dies before this happens?

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Yahenni's ability is a triggered ability that uses the sack. That means when Yahenni's Expertise resolves state based actions will checked and Midnight Entourage and your opponent's creatures will be put into the grave, and Midnight Entourage's ability and Yahenni's ability will trigger, then state based actions will be checked again and Yahenni will be put into the grave, then you will put the 3 triggered abilities on the stack (1 from Midnight Entourage and 2 from Yahenni). Yahenni's ability will do nothing either time it resolves.

January 9, 2017 3:03 p.m.

JoltsOfEnergy says... #2

Aww, that's disappointing. Thanks for the answer though. At least it's clear now.

January 9, 2017 3:16 p.m.

CogMonocle says... #3

You should mark the question as answered now so that it moves to the correct section of the Q&A

January 9, 2017 4:13 p.m.

JoltsOfEnergy says... #4

ahh ok, thanks.

January 9, 2017 5:16 p.m.

This discussion has been closed