Will vampires from an Elena sacrifices with an Indulgent Aristocrat have counters?

Asked by shaadowmaster 6 months ago

If I use an Indulgent Aristocrat to sacrifice Elenda, the Dusk Rose, will the vampires from Elenda have +1+1 counters from the Aristocrat?

Also, I'm fairly sure the answer is no, but if Elenda is enchanted with a Gift of Immortality will she get a +1+1 counter?

cdkime says... Accepted answer #1

Question 1:

You activate Indulgent aristocrats ability. Sacrificing a creature is part of the cost, so that is automatic and does not use the stack. Elenda, the Dusk Rose dies automatically.

Elenda, the Dusk Rose's ability triggers upon her death and goes onto the stack. The stack now has Indulgent Aristocrat's ability first, and Elenda, the Dusk Rose's ability second.

Because Elenda's ability was second, it resolves first. You get X 1/1 white vampire creature tokens. Indulgent Aristocrat's ability is still on the stack.

Indulgent Aristocrat's ability resolves. Your 1/1 white vampire creature tokens are in play. As such, they get +1/+1 counters.

Question 2.

You activate Indulgent aristocrats ability. Sacrificing a creature is part of the cost, so that is automatic and does not use the stack. Elenda, the Dusk Rose dies automatically.

Elenda, the Dusk Rose's ability triggers upon her death and goes onto the stack. Gift of Immortality's ability also triggers and goes on the stack. You can control the order these abilities go on the stack, as they triggered simultaneously.

The stack now has Indulgent Aristocrat's ability first, Elenda, the Dusk Rose's ability second, and Gift of Immortality's ability third.

You have Gift of Immortality resolve first, as it was the most recent ability put on the stack. It resolves, you get your Elenda back. Elenda's ability resolves, and you get your 1/1 vampires. Indulgent Aristocrat's ability resolves last and Elenda and your 1/1 vampires get their +1/+1 counters.

March 8, 2018 2:44 p.m.

shaadowmaster says... #2

Thanks a lot for the detailed answer. The rules make sense, although the result seems a tad illogical in this case.

March 8, 2018 2:59 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

The rules always apply perfect logic, the result is sometimes unintuitive, but as long as you apply logic and not intuition then you will always get the proper result.

March 9, 2018 8:14 a.m.

clentdc says... #4

Pump Elenda, to 4 for example. Sac her. Drop 4 vamp tokens.

Find a way to untap him, or wait until next turn.

Sac one of her vampire babies now and you are swinging for 8 lifelinked.

April 8, 2018 12:52 p.m.

clentdc says... #5

Pump Elenda, to 4 for example. Sac her. Drop 4 vamp tokens.

Find a way to untap him, or wait until next turn.

Sac one of her vampire babies now and you are swinging for 6 or more lifelinked.

April 8, 2018 12:54 p.m.

Please login to comment