Will I get 6 turns?

Asked by Dreykon 11 months ago

I cast Time Stretch targeting my opponent. I then cast Wild Ricochet changing the target of Time Stretch to my self and I then target my opponent with the copy of Time Stretch. Then I cast Fork targeting Wild Ricochet. With my second copy of Wild Ricochet I target the copy of Time Stretch redirecting it to my self and target myself with the second copy of Time Stretch.

Does this grant me 6 turns? Or am I messing up the stack some how?

Epochalyptik says... #1

If you allow Wild Ricochet to resolve, it won't be on the stack for Fork to target.

Also, because these effects give you the option to choose new targets ("you may"), it's a better idea to target yourself with Time Stretch from the outset and never change the targets. Less can go wrong that way. There's also no reason for Fork to target Wild Ricochet instead of Time Stretch itself.

But anyway, if you cast Time Stretch and copy it with Wild Ricochet and Fork, you'll take 6 extra turns because you're resolving three copies of Time Stretch.

May 15, 2017 10:07 p.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #2

Yes, you will both get 6 turns and you are messing up somehow.

First you cast Time Stretch with some target, then before your opponent has a chance to respond, you cast Wild Ricochet targeting Time Stretch. Then, once again before letting your opponent respond, you cast Fork targeting Wild Ricochet. The way you described it, you would have let Wild Ricochet resolve, and it would not longer be a valid target for Fork.

The stack is now:

  1. Time Stretch
  2. Wild Ricochet
  3. Fork

Assuming your opponent has no responses, Fork will resolve, creating a copy of Wild Ricochet, which you will presumably target at Time Stretch.

The stack is now:

  1. Time Stretch
  2. Wild Ricochet
  3. Wild Ricochet

Now (assuming no responses) Wild Ricochet resolves, allowing you to change the target of Time Stretch to whomever, and creating a copy that you'll want to target at yourself.

The stack is now:

  1. Time Stretch
  2. Wild Ricochet
  3. Time Stretch

Now (assuming no responses) Time Stretch resolves targeting yourself, giving yourself two extra turn. Again (assuming no responses) Wild Ricochet resolves, changing the target of Time Stretch to yourself, and creating a copy targeting yourself.

The stack is now:

  1. Time Stretch
  2. Time Stretch

Now, if there are no responses, both copies will resolve, one at a time, each giving you two extra turns.

Having written this, I think I've come up with why you're asking this, I think you're assuming Wild Ricochet has to change the target of the original, it in fact does not, and you can in each step of this target the Time Stretches at yourself, never needing to target your opponent.

May 15, 2017 10:11 p.m.

Dreykon says... #3

THank you both Epochalyptik and Neotrup. And yes I was assuming I had to change the target inorder to use Wild Ricochet missed the "may" part. My bad lol

May 15, 2017 10:28 p.m.

colton815 says... #4

i think the real question here is...how are you getting the 16 mana required to cast all 3?

May 17, 2017 9:28 p.m.

Neotrup says... #5

@colton815 That's not really a rules issue, but perhaps Time Stretch is being cast off a powered up As Foretold, or all three spells are free thanks to Omniscience. Or your using a Palinchron+High Tide combo to produce infinite mana. Or you cast Boundless Realms on the previous turn and just have that many lands now. Or you're playing Commander with Mizzix of the Izmagnus as your commander. Or the game has just gone long enough that you have that much mana available. This isn't that unusual of a situation in Commander, but can arise in other formats.

May 17, 2017 10:47 p.m.

colton815 says... #6

Neotrup you're*. and Time Stretch off of As Foretold is a bit of a...stretch. that'd be turn 13. and no game lasts 16 turns outside of commander unless the game is between 2 players with troll decks that literally have no win-con and just stall. also, i never said the issue of having 16 mana was a rules issue, so i'm not sure why you brought that up.

May 18, 2017 11:22 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

I'm not sure why this is even an issue.

May 18, 2017 11:34 a.m.

Neotrup says... #8

Because this is a rules forum for discussing rules, so I thought I should call out a non rules question as being off topic. As Foretold can get additional counters from cards like Tezzeret's Gambit, Dust of Moments, or Paradox Haze, among others. It's not limited to the 1 counter per turn as you implied.

May 18, 2017 2:28 p.m.

Dreykon says... #9

If it helps the real world scenario is my opponent cast Time Stretch. I casted Wild Ricochet and Fork. ALso it was a commander game. Cheers ;-)

May 18, 2017 6:30 p.m.

Please login to comment