When token names are the same as actual CARD names?

Asked by UniqueUserID 2 years ago

I've been doing a bit of research around Spy Kit seeing if what token "names" it can actually create. I was surprised to find it had a few! Such as the Crib Swap token has the same name as Shapeshifter and Urza's Factory and Assembly-Worker .

So the following questions all have to do with these "token names" and creature names, cause I'm not sure how many of these play out!

1) Does using Mask of the Mimic allow me to tutor out ANY card with the same name, such as Splinter from a token from Splintering Wind ?

2) if I cast Runed Halo naming "Shapeshifter", it would give me protection from the terrifying Shapeshifter AND the token made from Crib Swap ?

3) Cards like Pack Hunt , Retraced Image and Bifurcate do not card about card type, just name. So using them on a Spinter token from Splintering Wind means I can search for Splinter ?

4) And finally, if I was to Donate any artifact creature or artifact token with Spy Kit equipped on it, then use Splinter on it. Does it exile ALL their creatures (non-legends) in the deck, hand and graveyard??

Rhadamanthus says... #1

Yes to everything except for actually putting Splinter onto the battlefield. If an Instant or Sorcery would somehow enter the battlefield, it stays in its current zone instead (rules 304.4 and 307.4 for reference).

November 8, 2016 4:58 p.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #2

1) Mask of the Mimic has to target a nontoken creature, so you'd have to Clone the token to get Splinter. Doable, but pointless. Once you find the card, you'll attempt to put it onto the battlefield, fail, and instead leave it in your library because of the following:

307.4

Sorceries cant enter the battlefield. If a sorcery would enter the battlefield, it remains in its previous zone instead.

2) Yes

3) Depends. For Pack Hunt, yes. Retraced Image is subject to 307.4. And Bifurcate's Oracle Text says "Permanent Card," as well as "nontoken creature."

4) Sure, but Eradicate would let you use any (nonblack) creature token rather than an artifact creature.

November 8, 2016 5:10 p.m.

Neotrup says... #3

4) That is any nonblack creature. Would not have to be a token of course. And if your question "artifact token" would have to be "artifact creature token." If a clue token somehow had a Spy Kit equipped and was not a creature, it would become unequipped the next time state based actions were checked.

November 8, 2016 5:15 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #4

Good catch Neotrup, I didn't notice the problems regarding targeting restrictions.

November 8, 2016 5:16 p.m.

This discussion has been closed