When Captain's Claws effect triggers, do "whenever an ally enters the battlefield" effects happen before the opponent gets to block?

Asked by Tiodani 3 years ago

I have a 3/4 Hada Freeblade equipped with a Captain's Claws on my side, and the opponent has a blue creature on his side. If I attack with my Hada Freeblade and the opponent chooses to block it, how much damage does the blue creature take?

Now, suppose I also have a Kabira Evangel on my side. If I attack with my equipped Hada Freeblade, could I choose my allies to have protection from blue, preventing my opponent to block?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Abilities that trigger when something attacks trigger and resolve in the declare attackers step, before the declare blockers step begins. (There's one exception: abilities that trigger when something attacks and isn't blocked trigger in the declare blockers step.)

Captain's Claws's ability triggers as you declare attackers, so it'll be put onto the stack once you're done announcing your attacks. When Captain's Claws's ability resolves, it'll put a Kor Ally token onto the battlefield, which will trigger Hada Freeblade's and Kabira Evangel's abilities. Both of these abilities will likewise resolve before blockers are declared. So your 3/4 Hada Freeblade will grow to 4/5 and will get protection from blue pre-blocks.

August 5, 2016 12:28 p.m.

A slight nit pick: Hada Freeblade would have to be a 4/4, not a 3/4, because Captain's Claws gives it +1/+0.

August 5, 2016 3:42 p.m.

This discussion has been closed